Close

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    DF MaSter Zydig0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Dynamic drive overlay-help !

    I'm in the procsess of doing an old PC up for one of the kids.On installing Norton antivirus 2003 it informs me the hard drives boot sector is not where it should be due to dynamic drive overlay.

    The HD is a Quantum fireball 6.4 gig ata and the bios supports larger HD's than this.

    How do I get rid of it ?

    I'm not bothered if I have to fdisk the HD if needed,but do I need any perticular switches when formatting it ?

    Any help appreciated !

    PS PC running WIN98

    Thanks Zydig0

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,068
    Thanks
    610
    Thanked:        748
    Karma Level
    1133

    Default

    I don't know too much about this.
    Quantum hdd's are supported by Maxtor, I think the hdd had to be fdisk'ed using MaxBlast or similar DDO software.

    I can't say 100% that a simple fdisk/mbr from a command prompt is going to solve your issue, so you should try this before hanging up your gloves and doing a full fdisk/format/install.

    Maxblast support [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


  3. #3
    DF PlaYa Violator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Warrington
    Posts
    550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    255

    Default

    An Fdisk will be required to rewrite the boot sector (basically and as far as I remember). Had the drive always been in that PC?? generally you only needed it modifying if the original BIOS didn't support that size of drive.

  4. #4
    DF MaSter Zydig0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by Violator
    An Fdisk will be required to rewrite the boot sector (basically and as far as I remember). Had the drive always been in that PC?? generally you only needed it modifying if the original BIOS didn't support that size of drive.
    No the HD and all the bits and peices have been scavenged from various PC's,but the mainboards bios that its running with now supports larger HD's than 6.4 gig so DDO isn't required-it's just slowing down booting up time.

    @cronus,Thanks for the link. I don't know what software installed the DDO ? if it was installed by using Ontrack would Maxblast still remove it , I can't seem to find an answer from maxtor site ?If it wouldn't any idea how I can find a reference to what programme installed it ?

    I fdisk'd it and formatted it before loading WIN 98 but it still appears to be there ?

    Any other switches to use apart from just making it /s ?

    Sorry for all the questions,but this is really bugging me !

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,068
    Thanks
    610
    Thanked:        748
    Karma Level
    1133

    Default

    Originally posted by Zydig0
    I fdisk'd it and formatted it before loading WIN 98 but it still appears to be there ?
    So you actually deleted and recreated the partitions in FDISK, and it's still there?
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


  6. #6
    DF PlaYa Violator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Warrington
    Posts
    550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    255

    Default

    Originally posted by Zydig0


    No the HD and all the bits and peices have been scavenged from various PC's,but the mainboards bios that its running with now supports larger HD's than 6.4 gig so DDO isn't required-it's just slowing down booting up time.
    Ahh that's my point, I figured it must have been in an older PC. But an Fdisk should completely remove the DDO if done properly, as cronus71 said did you actually delete and recreate the partitions??

  7. #7
    DF MaSter Zydig0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Christ I'm begining to doubt my self now !.....but I know I did !

    I cant find anything related to DDO in windoz .(as I pressume you would expect ?)

    What can I run from DOS to see if/where it is ?

    Apart from NAV reporting it is there and what its doing.....I don't know much else ???

  8. #8
    DF VIP Member
    cronus71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    7,068
    Thanks
    610
    Thanked:        748
    Karma Level
    1133

    Default

    When you boot the system, you should be able to see proof of DDO, then again since it was installed on another system I can't be sure it's visible.

    Lifted this from another site: "Some of these overlays can be very difficult to remove from the disk, and require you to use uninstall facilities that come with the driver, if you want to get rid of them. When you do remove the driver, say because you have upgraded to a PC that supports large drives, you may have to repartition and reformat the disks (though this may not be required). "

    Look here, this should be useful, it is for the Quantum drives specifically, if you check out this utility there should be an option for you to erase/delete DDO or hopefully the whole partitions.

    Middle of the page [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    As I said, I have no "hands on" experience with DDO's, but I think it may even be possible, that when you enter FDISK, a small part of the hard drive is not seen there (used by the DDO), and the DDO probably behaves as a hidden partition by itself, hence it would be necesary to remove it with the same utility it was installed. Well and with a low level format, which I hope won't be necessary.

    Hope this helps m8.
    Last edited by cronus71; 6th November 2002 at 12:46 AM.
    “If I asked you to have sex with me, would the answer to that question be the same as the answer to this question?”


  9. #9
    DF Jedi Pongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    1,348
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    344

    Default

    I've come across this before. Just do an FDISK /MBR This sorts out the Master Boot Record.

    HTH

  10. #10
    DF MaSter Zydig0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    Thanks very much for the help,I'll look through it in more detail latter.

    Thanks again Zydig0

  11. #11
    DF MaSter Zydig0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    fdisk /mbr has certainly moved the mbr and NAV seems happy now

    After doing a fdisk /mbr search with Google and reading some horror stories I was more than relieved to find that everything worked OK afterwards.

    I did try using Ontrack Disk Manager but the PC hangs on loading it ,and as I have no idea what laid the DDO down I'm going to be a coward and leave it at that !

    Thanks for all your help- Zydig0

  12. #12
    DF PiMP thedriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    R u talking to
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    267

    Default Re: Dynamic drive overlay-help !

    Sorry to revive such an old thread, but I have a similar problem now.

    I have data on a large drive which original had ontrack v9.57 on to alter the drives boot system.

    Please see my new thread....Only just found this old topic.

    Anyway...did you manage to solve this problem and if so how?

Similar Threads

  1. Unwanted Overlay Adverts
    By beansontoast in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th October 2015, 08:59 PM
  2. 3M OHP + Homemade LCD overlay
    By MsDG in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th November 2007, 02:42 PM
  3. Unknown 'overlay' on some icons/folders
    By headsortails in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th October 2007, 05:43 PM
  4. Burger King POI Overlay
    By beerman in forum GPS / SatNav / Dashcam
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th August 2005, 06:21 PM
  5. Video Overlay Hardware
    By oE in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd November 2004, 11:50 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •