Close

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    DF Rookie nivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    the office
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default sound problem with abit th7iiraid

    if anyone could help to enlighten me please
    got abit motherboard th7iiraid not using raid array yet
    running xp pro
    creative geforce 3 graphics
    creative soundblaster 5.1 digital live
    256mb rimm memory
    ibm deskstar 40gxp hardrive

    sound crackles and distortes when playing some games/demos
    i have updated all my device drivers to latest versions
    could my problem be caused by not having enough memory.

  2. #2
    DF Jedi cosmicma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    united kingdom
    Posts
    2,487
    Thanks
    74
    Thanked:        200
    Karma Level
    442

    Default

    it's usually down to a resource conflict sounblaster cards are a bit greedy when it comes to resources
    see what is sharing irq's with the sound card and see if you can change it
    i got rid of my soundblaster and replaced it with a hercules card because of conflicts i am not dissapointed that i did
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  3. #3
    DF Rookie nivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    the office
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default

    hi thanks for your reply

    as far as i can see i am using irq 5 for the sound blaster with no conflicts
    and xp is set to advanced configuration and power interface
    as requested by creative so as not to use virtual irq as it used to be using irq 17.
    on board audio/modem/games port are all disabled.

    i was thinking possibly memory due to when playing games etc
    memory drops to about 40meg or lower and cpu usage runs at 100% constantly (running a 1.9ghz pent 4 forgot to state that before)

  4. #4
    DF Jedi cosmicma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    united kingdom
    Posts
    2,487
    Thanks
    74
    Thanked:        200
    Karma Level
    442

    Default

    i think you will also find your sblive is sharing irq 9 or 10 as well irq 5 is only used for soundblaster emulation ( mainly for old games ) i would check as i would be very suprised if it isn't

    it's not conflicts your looking for it's irq sharing ie sharing irq 10 with a network card or scsi card mabe graphics card there will be no conflicts showing as it only shares the resources not hog them
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

Similar Threads

  1. Problem - no sound
    By dav in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th July 2008, 04:46 PM
  2. PC Problem ;( ABIT AV8 3rd Eye - Error 25
    By devs in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 26th March 2008, 11:50 AM
  3. Sound problem
    By Kev in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th December 2005, 10:39 PM
  4. Abit NF7-s problem
    By lmfy2k in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd April 2004, 07:13 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •