Close

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Virgin Media

  1. #1
    DF PwNagE Sanj[UK]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,789
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked:        297
    Karma Level
    682

    Default Virgin Media

    I've waited 14 YEARS to have fibre installed in my house..just received a call from virgins construction department telling me I'm missing 9 meters of tracking so they can't do the install :@ seriously WTF??


    To make it worse the tracking seems to stop at my neighbours house who are a complete bunch of cunts:@

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE DJAd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    *Classified*
    Posts
    7,008
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked:        40
    Karma Level
    847

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Buhahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

  3. #3
    DF PwNagE rIKmAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Stafford
    Posts
    6,503
    Thanks
    1,062
    Thanked:        645
    Karma Level
    632

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Don't even know wtf that means, but unlucky son!

  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    9,157
    Thanks
    1,875
    Thanked:        4,075
    Karma Level
    998

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by Sanj[UK] View Post
    I've waited 14 YEARS to have fibre installed in my house..just received a call from virgins construction department telling me I'm missing 9 meters of tracking so they can't do the install :@ seriously WTF??


    To make it worse the tracking seems to stop at my neighbours house who are a complete bunch of cunts:@
    If your neighbours are getting it they could easily pipe it into your place with Coax cable.

    Didnt read it properly. You ARE having it installed! lol


  5. #5
    DF PwNagE Sanj[UK]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,789
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked:        297
    Karma Level
    682

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Just to add..i ended up speaking to virgin's media principal technician for west london. He was surprised to hear that I used to have their old analogue shit back in the day, so hes asked me to call him monday to arrange a joint meet to assess the property..result!

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,787
    Thanks
    559
    Thanked:        1,133
    Karma Level
    2127

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Well if the joints meet you'll be sorted!
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday — what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

  7. #7
    DF PwNagE burner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South West
    Posts
    7,590
    Thanks
    349
    Thanked:        706
    Karma Level
    1285

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by Sanj[UK] View Post
    Just to add..i ended up speaking to virgin's media principal technician for west london. He was surprised to hear that I used to have their old analogue shit back in the day, so hes asked me to call him monday to arrange a joint meet to assess the property..result!
    I had a similar issue couple of years ago which went on for months mate, eventually I got to talk to someone who wasn't a parrot and a property assessor bloke came round eventually and sorted it in days.

    Their system said 'no' to the fact I couldn't have cable installed when I moved from the downstairs flat to the upper one. Blimmin VM system apparently listed the property as one house and not two flats (which has been listed as 2 flats with the land registry and council since 1990) so they couldn't set up two accounts on the same 'house' .

    He came round, took a look and I got an install date sharpish

    Hope it goes your way.

  8. #8
    DF Wh0re Fireball JaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    150

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    getting virgin installed later this month. after reading this i hope it all goes swimmingly

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member
    Scal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    516
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked:        51
    Karma Level
    246

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Wish they would lay the bloody cable in my area - crap having to have ADSL and being miles away from the exchange.

  10. #10
    DF VIP Member AD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bolton, Uk
    Posts
    3,042
    Thanks
    770
    Thanked:        512
    Karma Level
    534

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Quote Originally Posted by Scal View Post
    Wish they would lay the bloody cable in my area - crap having to have ADSL and being miles away from the exchange.

    Same boat m8, shit innit........

    Come on BT Get FTTC sorted in Bolton you twadlehats!

    -=AD=-

  11. #11
    DF VIP Member
    Scal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    516
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked:        51
    Karma Level
    246

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Someone told me to try calling em and see if they will install.

    Cant see em doing that for one house - although other properties may want it too.

  12. #12
    DF Jedi bbshark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    shh im hiding
    Posts
    3,906
    Thanks
    287
    Thanked:        296
    Karma Level
    549

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    cant see them doing so for just 1 or 2 people. post a letter to all the neighbours in the street asking about if they would have cable fitted if it was avalible. im sure if enough people want it they would fit it.
    bbshark. The Member with the first ever DF Fine

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  13. #13
    DF PwNagE Sanj[UK]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,789
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked:        297
    Karma Level
    682

    Default Re: Virgin Media

    Well he came down this morning, saw the wiring, found the ducting and result

    Only problem is now that neither of us noticed that the cat 5/6 going to my house has been cut but hopefully that wont be nothing to hard to sort

    Just got to wait for another construction date now

Similar Threads

  1. Virgin media
    By Undertaker in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd September 2015, 06:28 PM
  2. [UPDATE] Virgin Media Sky 1
    By Freaky in forum Digital & Cable TV
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 30th October 2009, 11:33 PM
  3. Virgin Media going to be taken over
    By Mickey in forum News & Current Affairs
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 3rd July 2007, 12:27 AM
  4. Virgin Media !!!
    By m3yer in forum The Whine Cellar
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th June 2007, 03:46 PM
  5. virgin media
    By bobo06 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th May 2007, 09:29 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •