Close

Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,464
    Thanks
    1,217
    Thanked:        3,501
    Karma Level
    1607

    Default Which remote desktop?

    Today I have been looking into remote desktop apps to help with software problems on clients machines. I really like TeamViewer but when I looked into the cost of it £889 seemed a bit steep, even though it is a lifetime payment. This is for the mid-range version which includes several additions over the £439 version:
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    I looked into RealVNC but from what I could make out you pay per client machine you intend to monitor/install to. I will be installing such software to all my PC builds so I can provide software support remotely so this will cost a fortune and I may not have to use it.

    Are there any more recommendations of a decent remote desktop app at a decent price? TeamViewer has an iPhone app which may come in handy although no real problems could be solved using an iPhone.

    Cheers


  2. #2
    DF Jedi Cooleo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,365
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked:        22
    Karma Level
    269

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Why not Microsoft remote desktop?

  3. #3
    DF PwNagE Sanj[UK]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,789
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked:        297
    Karma Level
    682

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    or VNC ?

  4. #4
    DF PwNagE ant3b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,130
    Thanks
    600
    Thanked:        165
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    what about logmein? and has a iphone app also

  5. #5
    DF Jedi TriBot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,000
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked:        143
    Karma Level
    477

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    If all your clients are on one site and it is a windows environment then you can use Windows Terminal Services Gateway which i believe lets you just use the RDP clint but it is all done over SSL..!

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator JonEp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    2,388
    Thanks
    1,318
    Thanked:        1,014
    Karma Level
    401

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Logmein gets my recommendation does every think you could want to do but unlike other solutions where you send your customers a link for them to click to start the RDP session LMI requires each PC to be added to an account first.

    VNC is another great solution.

  7. #7
    DF Jedi Conkers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Out Here !
    Posts
    2,060
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked:        157
    Karma Level
    432

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    tightvnc.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    I use this with both iteleport & VNC Viewer on my iphone

  8. #8
    DF PlaYa sirdave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked:        82
    Karma Level
    279

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    not free but i used NTR Support at a company i worked for, no need to pre install clients so can be used on any machine windows or mac, full access, file transfer etc, not sure about there pricing i do know they can be haggled with big time as we got them down to £400 for 2 users for a year you also get something like 10 monitored pcs/servers for that and its brandable.

    Anyway get a free trial see what you think just expect a sales call as they are totally sales driven as a company, but to be honest the package gave us everything we needed for remote support/access.

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa tom999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    My house
    Posts
    849
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    302

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Windows remote desktop
    logmein (has a customer support option I believe)
    tightVNC (Free), but be sure to secure it

  10. #10
    DF Jedi tronads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Blackpool
    Posts
    2,538
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        275
    Karma Level
    348

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    We use UltraVNC at work, along with the standard Microsoft Remote Desktop. The reason we use both is some applications (Oracle) in certain instances require a bequeath (i think thats what its called) connection, which VNC gives but remote desktop doesnt.
    It home I use the free version of Logmein, which is just superb.

  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,282
    Thanks
    4,452
    Thanked:        1,833
    Karma Level
    1335

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    MS RDP does the job but if your resolution isn't the same as the pc you are accessing, you may find you mess up the locations of their icons.

    VNC is great and free - I used to use realvnc but now the new images have tightvnc instead as it seems to work better with versions of windows after xp and is easier to ctrl-alt-del to login. I would advise not putting the viewer on user's pc's - over here some users sussed the p/w and started having fun with other users!

    For logmein type services in the event of needing to support a user and not having a vpn, I use mikogo - totally free of charge

  12. #12
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,464
    Thanks
    1,217
    Thanked:        3,501
    Karma Level
    1607

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Thanks for the fast replies, will work my way down the list and give them a try. I have had experience with logmein and VNC before but it was a while ago.


  13. #13
    DF VIP Member
    tombott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Hereford
    Posts
    5,696
    Thanks
    505
    Thanked:        564
    Karma Level
    747

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Just use VNC, I prefer RealVNC Free edition myself.
    Just make sure you use strong passwords.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Guns don't kill people rappers do, I'm a fucking rapper and I might kill you.

  14. #14
    DF Jedi Mystical_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale
    Posts
    4,688
    Thanks
    1,223
    Thanked:        1,004
    Karma Level
    711

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    would highly recommend logmein mate, great service
    You know he grew up as a little shitspark from the old shitflint and then he turned into a shitbonfire and driven by the winds of his monumental ignorance he turned into a raging shitfirestorm. If I get to be married to Barb I'll have total control of Sunnyvale and then I can unleash the shitnami tidal wave that will engulf Ricky and extinguish his shitflames forever. And with any luck he'll drown in the undershit of that wave. Shitwaves.

  15. #15
    DF PlaYa x_Mr_C_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    206
    Thanked:        97
    Karma Level
    288

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    I use logmein for accessing my internal network and personal PCs and the iPhone app works great.
    For customers PCs I generally use [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]. I usually get the Day pass at $9.95 and bill this to the customer. If you don't do that much remote support then this option is good value.

    I am also a fan of Teamviewer but the price scared me away

  16. #16
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    9,157
    Thanks
    1,875
    Thanked:        4,075
    Karma Level
    998

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Without question. All them are crap or mediocre at best.

    Windows Remote Desktop = Flakey and Firewall/Port dependent - Sooo many issues it's stupid!

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Is the dogs danglies. How else can you remote view ALL computers on the network at once - install the 'Agent' remotely without the need to leave your PC to install it AND can control the PC simply by pressing the button.


  17. #17
    DF VIP Member
    tombott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Hereford
    Posts
    5,696
    Thanks
    505
    Thanked:        564
    Karma Level
    747

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Quote Originally Posted by DejaVu View Post
    Without question. All them are crap or mediocre at best.

    Windows Remote Desktop = Flakey and Firewall/Port dependent - Sooo many issues it's stupid!

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Is the dogs danglies. How else can you remote view ALL computers on the network at once - install the 'Agent' remotely without the need to leave your PC to install it AND can control the PC simply by pressing the button.
    lol, not being funny but they just uses VNC and gives you a front end manager.
    You can roll out VNC to remote PC's easily, there are plenty of Free tools out there that let you do this, as there are plenty of free VNC managers.
    i really don't see the point in spending serious money on things that are available freely and legally!
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Guns don't kill people rappers do, I'm a fucking rapper and I might kill you.

  18. #18
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,464
    Thanks
    1,217
    Thanked:        3,501
    Karma Level
    1607

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Only problem I can see with RealVNC is the free edition doesn't support Windows 7 and the pay for edition is £20 per PC and I may find I never have to use it on numerous PCs. I will keep looking through the list and work out pros and cons


  19. #19
    DF VIP Member
    tombott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Hereford
    Posts
    5,696
    Thanks
    505
    Thanked:        564
    Karma Level
    747

    Default Re: Which remote desktop?

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Only problem I can see with RealVNC is the free edition doesn't support Windows 7 and the pay for edition is £20 per PC and I may find I never have to use it on numerous PCs. I will keep looking through the list and work out pros and cons
    TightVNC works on Windows 7.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Guns don't kill people rappers do, I'm a fucking rapper and I might kill you.

Similar Threads

  1. Can I run Remote Desktop without a password?
    By Kushty in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th November 2010, 05:33 PM
  2. Windows Remote Desktop...
    By -TheGame- in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 29th September 2006, 12:44 PM
  3. Remote Desktop
    By Crilly in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2nd July 2006, 11:03 PM
  4. Remote Desktop
    By DJAd in forum PC Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 1st February 2006, 05:18 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •