Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: processor

  1. #1
    DF Wh0re Fireball JaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    150

    Default processor

    looking at having a desktop built. decided to go down the line of AMD. Looking at quad core. anyone any comments on the phenom II X4 965 black edition 3.4ghz

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,282
    Thanks
    4,452
    Thanked:        1,833
    Karma Level
    1335

    Default Re: processor

    I lost interest in AMD's a while back so I'm not up to speed, but I believe if you want an X4, there are certain X2 models where another 2 cores can be unlocked for free or something.

  3. #3
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        194
    Karma Level
    498

    Default Re: processor

    Quote Originally Posted by Over carl View Post
    I lost interest in AMD's a while back so I'm not up to speed, but I believe if you want an X4, there are certain X2 models where another 2 cores can be unlocked for free or something.
    Yip, I did that with mines.

    Picked up a Phenom 550 Black Edition X2 and an Asus M4A785TD-V motherboard and enabled all cores in the BIOS - job done.

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa pattikins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    manchester
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    251
    Thanked:        82
    Karma Level
    321

    Default Re: processor

    Quote Originally Posted by Fireball JaX View Post
    looking at having a desktop built. decided to go down the line of AMD. Looking at quad core. anyone any comments on the phenom II X4 965 black edition 3.4ghz
    It's a decent processor & for less than £130 I would say it's good value for money. As far as going down the unlocking route goes, it's worth pointing out that even if you do unlock all the cores with the right motherboard, it is not guaranteed that your system will be stable. There are technical/manufacturing as well as marketing reasons behind AMD locking the extra cores. If you google the success rate for unlocking the extra cores you'll notice that there is a real chance of being stuck with a dual core system.

  5. #5
    DF Wh0re Fireball JaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    150

    Default Re: processor

    this is way above my head and capability. once its set up there will be no alterations really

  6. #6
    DF PlaYa pickie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    610
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked:        123
    Karma Level
    214

    Default Re: processor

    I7 all the way

Similar Threads

  1. processor Help
    By Ryan5262 in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd June 2006, 10:57 PM
  2. What Processor
    By Rob290482 in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th February 2006, 08:23 PM
  3. something is using over 50% of my processor
    By kitbag in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th February 2006, 07:16 PM
  4. £10 off new processor
    By neo2810 in forum Hall Of Shame
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st May 2003, 10:38 AM
  5. z80 processor
    By Nikki in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th April 2003, 02:25 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •