Close

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: what do i need?

  1. #1
    Banned russbeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ormskirk, NW
    Posts
    9,622
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    954

    Default what do i need?

    Hey all,

    I've just got hold of a "Network Media Tank" called Suno HD, it has a easily removable 1tb drive in it and I'm starting to download stuff for it now.

    The Suno is in a different part of the house and is connected to my pc via homeplugs, which allows the Suno to see whats on the pc and stream standard def stuff but it struggles with HD stuff. The pc cannot see what is on the Suno hdd. What do I need to be able to transfer the files on my pc (some are 8-10gb) on to the hdd of the Suno? Can it be something simple like a long cat5 cable? Is it a piece of software like some ftp thing? or is it a matter of buying a usb to sata cable? or something else?

    Oh, and has anyone else got one of these particular machines?

    Cheers
    Russbeer

  2. #2
    Banned russbeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ormskirk, NW
    Posts
    9,622
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    954

    Default Re: what do i need?

    anyone?

  3. #3
    DF Jedi theodotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,304
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked:        153
    Karma Level
    422

    Default Re: what do i need?

    Does the player have ftp connectivity? check in the manual or in the settings on the player and if it does there will be a user name and password?

    If not the only way is going to be to remove the hard drive and connect it to the pc to add stuff.

  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator BertRoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Poppy Fields
    Posts
    24,158
    Thanks
    1,267
    Thanked:        2,349
    Karma Level
    2712

    Default Re: what do i need?

    Get some real network cable and do it that way. My PCH struggled playing 1080p over homeplugs so that is what I did and never looked back.


  5. #5
    DF Jedi theodotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,304
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked:        153
    Karma Level
    422

    Default Re: what do i need?

    It does have an FTP server so you can transfer files via FTP, you can also transfer files via USB on one of the ports from what I read.

  6. #6
    Banned russbeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ormskirk, NW
    Posts
    9,622
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    954

    Default Re: what do i need?

    Got a big old network cable from before I had the homeplugs so will try it. Just have, and it just streams the HD stuff better. I'm after a way to transfer things from the pc to the hard drive without having a load of cables everywhere. One of those hdd docks looks like the ticket as I'm more interested at cleaning up the old files that have been left on the hdd first by its previous owner, then filling it with my own stuff.
    Last edited by russbeer; 27th September 2010 at 08:16 AM.

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member
    Nibb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    16,787
    Thanks
    559
    Thanked:        1,133
    Karma Level
    2127

    Default Re: what do i need?

    You should be able to see it in windows explorer on your main PC if its on the network.

    With my old PCH that how I managed the files there...It'll probably have some sort of default user name and password to allow you to see the internal HD.

    Then you can delete/ drag & drop as you would on any PC on your network.
    "Where you are is what you eat. When I'm in London I'll have beans on toast for lunch. On holiday — what? Tapas? Go on then I'll have a bit. You eat whatevers in that area"
    Karl Pilkington

  8. #8
    Banned russbeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ormskirk, NW
    Posts
    9,622
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    954

    Default Re: what do i need?

    Just got meself one of those hard drive docks for £20 from a local pc shop, looks like the easiest and quickest solution.

    Thanks for the help y'all!

  9. #9
    Banned russbeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ormskirk, NW
    Posts
    9,622
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    954

    Default Re: what do i need?

    Sigh.... here we go.... I bought a SATA Hdd dock earlier today and plugged it in through the usb, switched it on and it shows as "removable disc G:" and if i click it, it says insert disc, then I put the hdd into the thing and the G: drive disappears. I can hear the drive spinning but I still can't view the fucker. Its a WD Caviar 1TB drive. The dock supports them upto 1.5tb and it has shown up as installed and ready to use on XP.

    Whats going on?

  10. #10
    DF Jedi theodotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,304
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked:        153
    Karma Level
    422

    Default Re: what do i need?

    have you tried putting the disc in and then plugging it in and turning it on?

  11. #11
    DF Jedi theodotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,304
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked:        153
    Karma Level
    422

    Default Re: what do i need?

    forget that...

    go to start, right click on computer, select manage, go to disc management. The disc should show there, then right click on the volume and select import foreign disc.

    that should do the job, I had this problem a while ago with my hard drive in my media player, just remembered about it.

  12. #12
    Banned russbeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ormskirk, NW
    Posts
    9,622
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    954

    Default Re: what do i need?

    since the earlier post I have formatted the drive, only to find out that it is formatted using EXT2 or EXT3 which is a linux file system that doesn't show on the pc without a viewer, but i found out too late. I am now having a real nightmare getting it to reformat the drive inside the Suno player. I need a syb8634.nmt file apparently and I'm really struggling to get it to work. I'm having a night of pure frustration here.

  13. #13
    Banned russbeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ormskirk, NW
    Posts
    9,622
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        1
    Karma Level
    954

    Default Re: what do i need?

    Quote Originally Posted by theodotcom View Post
    forget that...

    go to start, right click on computer, select manage, go to disc management. The disc should show there, then right click on the volume and select import foreign disc.

    that should do the job, I had this problem a while ago with my hard drive in my media player, just remembered about it.
    thanks theo, too late though as my inexperience and impatience having fucked me up once more.

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •