Close

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    DF MaSter H4RRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bolton U.K
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Help Broadband Question

    Hi,

    Ive had some problems with broadband speeds recently

    i called the engineer out (bt open reach) to fix the problem then i asked him about my broadband speed he told me which route the cableing takes to get to my exchange it is roughly 1km away

    my exchange is 21cn enabled (ADSL2+ Enabled) i am ment to be getting up to 20mb bb speed

    but acording to bt wholesale my line can only achive 4meg

    i asked my isp's technical support (Zen Internet) and they say its the quality of the cable


    and the bt engineer said its not the quality of the cabaling its the hardware the isp is using at the bt exchange

    my line can apparently handle 4meg but it gets arround 2meg ish


    can anyone recomend a good isp that offeres a more decent speed

    but i am looking for a isp that offers

    Static ip addresses

    no usage allowence (not critical)

    apparently my street should achive 10 meg at least on bb speeds acording to the bt engineer


    cheers



    H

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa drdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Putney
    Posts
    949
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked:        40
    Karma Level
    301

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    Be/O2 do static IPs and are rapid provided that your exchange is LLU'd by them. O2 has introduced a FUP for new home broadband contracts though: 'The Works' package (as you want a static IP address) is 250GB per month.

  3. #3
    DF MaSter H4RRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bolton U.K
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    what does LLU mean / do ?

    this is the info ive got from my exchange


    Higher Bolton Exchange

    Broadband and Cable Availability in Higher Bolton


    General Information
    Exchange name:Higher BoltonExchange code:LCHIGLocation:[Only registered and activated users can see links. ] [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Postcode:BL15QFMaps:[Only registered and activated users can see links. ] | [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] | [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Serves (approx):14,272 residential premises432 non-residential premises.

    Broadband availability overview
    ADSL:Yes
    SDSL:Yes
    LLU services: Yes
    Cable:Yes
    Wireless:No


    BT Wholesale information
    ADSL status:Enabled as of 30/09/2001
    ADSL Max status:Enabled as of 31/03/2006
    SDSL status:Not available
    21CN WBC status:Enabled as of 15/02/2009
    FTTC status:RFS date set : 31/12/2011


    Wireless broadband availability
    LTT Broadband:Not available
    Now Wireless:Not available
    OnLincolnshire:Not available
    Urban Wimax:Not available
    Kijoma:Not available
    EMNET Notts:Not available
    Orbital / VFast:Not available


    Cable Broadband Availability
    Virgin Media:Available in some areas
    Smallworld Media:Not available


    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]



    Location Map

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    LLU operator presence

    AOL:Enabled
    O2 / Be:Enabled
    C&W / Bulldog:Enabled as of 03/06/2006
    Edge Telecom:Not available
    Entanet:Not available
    Lumison:Not available
    NewNet:Not available
    Node4:Not available
    Orange:Enabled as of 20/01/2010
    Pipex:Not available
    Sky / Easynet:Enabled as of 21/10/2006
    Smallworld:Not available
    TalkTalk (CPW):Enabled
    Tiscali:Enabled as of 25/07/2007
    Tiscali TV:Enabled as of 25/07/2007
    WB Internet:Not available
    Zen Internet:Not available


    Ofcom Classification [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Market 3
    Four or more 'principal' operators provide broadband services at this exchange. Service in this area has been deregulated!

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa drdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Putney
    Posts
    949
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked:        40
    Karma Level
    301

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    LLU is where broadband providers put their own ADSL2+ equipment in the BT exchange in order to provide faster throughput. Your copy and paste shows "O2 / Be:Enabled" so try punching your landline number in to either of their sites and see what speed they think you could get

    EDIT -> Based on your postcode (which you might want to edit out), BT reckons your line currently supports an estimated ADSL2+ broadband line speed of 15Mbps. Again, put your phone number in for a more accurate estimate.
    Last edited by drdude; 13th October 2010 at 05:32 PM. Reason: done some poking around

  5. #5
    DF MaSter H4RRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bolton U.K
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    interesting

    thanks for the tip

    so any provider that doesent have an LLU status at the exchange is pointless

    Be Broadband

    predict i will get

    11meg*


    thats the only isp i have looked at

  6. #6
    DF PlaYa drdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Putney
    Posts
    949
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked:        40
    Karma Level
    301

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    Quote Originally Posted by H4RRY View Post
    interesting

    thanks for the tip

    so any provider that doesent have an LLU status at the exchange is pointless

    Be Broadband

    predict i will get

    11meg*


    thats the only isp i have looked at
    I imagine that the speed applies to all ADSL2+ providers on your exchange as the speed is determined by the length and quality of your line from the exchange. Sky would be a good alternative if you don't require a static IP address.

  7. #7
    DF MaSter H4RRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bolton U.K
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    ah rite

    i need static ip addresses though

    is be broadband the only other isp that offers static ip addresses ?

  8. #8
    DF PwNagE ant3b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,130
    Thanks
    600
    Thanked:        165
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    you can get static ips with 02 for a price or most isp's

  9. #9
    DF Jedi Conkers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Out Here !
    Posts
    2,060
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked:        157
    Karma Level
    432

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    or use a service like dynip?

  10. #10
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,282
    Thanks
    4,452
    Thanked:        1,833
    Karma Level
    1335

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    I had something similar at work - we had two zen lines at our stores getting around 6.5mb each. One got changed to bt as needed to join to a vpls network and suddenly we only get between 1-1.5Mb even though this was supposed to be adsl2+. Checked it on samknows which said line is only capable of 0.5mb, and apparantly anything over 0.5Mb bt class as a useable service. We were told best chance of improvement was termination of adsl and phone line and getting another line as this one was using a bad pair.

    After this we've decided to knock the vpls stuff on the head and get another zen line in to replace the bt one, although I suppose we could get unlucky if this line also uses a bad pair.

  11. #11
    DF MaSter H4RRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bolton U.K
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    i'm just wondering if i change from my zen connection to an LLU enabled service would it improve the speed i am getting

    currently bt says my line can handle 4meg but i barely get that

    by changing to a isp that offers LLU would it improve the speeds

  12. #12
    Awaiting Email Confirm dringhouses's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    europe
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked:        9
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    yes mate I inproved my speed from 6mg to 17mg by changing from sky to o2 and the 2 isp's provide LLU in my local exchange which the exchange is 1.5 kilometres from my telephone point!!!

  13. #13
    DF MaSter H4RRY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bolton U.K
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Broadband Question

    oh rite thanks for the information i will proberly consider changing

Similar Threads

  1. quick broadband question!
    By lukese in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th March 2011, 10:15 PM
  2. Question about Bethere broadband and usage
    By TheMute in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24th July 2009, 10:12 AM
  3. 3G Broadband Question.....
    By Sushi in forum Unlocking Questions & Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th March 2008, 09:25 PM
  4. Freedom2surf and be broadband question
    By theodotcom in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th January 2006, 08:06 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •