Close

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    371

    Question VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    Hi Guys,

    Is there a way that I enable wifi time restrictions? E.g. wifi on from 08:30 - 17:30 etc

    Thanks
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    683

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    Don't think you can switch wifi off over a time period but I think you can restrict ip addresses or mac addresses in time periods.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  3. #3
    DF Jedi tips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,516
    Thanks
    644
    Thanked:        276
    Karma Level
    388

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    There is definitely an option on the Superhub somewhere to allow time access restrictions, as I had this set up for my Son PC to ensure he wasn't on it all the time. I have just been looking for the option, sorry, I cannot find it but it is 100% there.

    EDIT: log in to the Superhub > Advanced Settings > IP Filtering and here you can add a filter with "Timed Access Rules".
    Last edited by tips; 6th March 2014 at 07:52 AM.

    Thanks to tips

    rookie (7th March 2014) 


  4. #4
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    371

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    Thank you, but does this turn off the wifi or just disable it for certain users?
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member Pegasus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    4,588
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked:        52
    Karma Level
    617

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    Quote Originally Posted by hilljd00 View Post
    Thank you, but does this turn off the wifi or just disable it for certain users?
    The Wi-Fi remains on, it is just disabled for the devices you specify.
    Understeer is when you hit a wall with the front of your car
    Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the back of your car
    Horsepower is how fast your car hits the wall
    Torque is how far your car sends the wall across the field once you've hit it

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    371

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    That's annoying!

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator JonEp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    2,369
    Thanks
    1,277
    Thanked:        995
    Karma Level
    391

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    Turn the VM hub to cable modem mode and hook up a separate WiFi router to one of the Ethernet ports which is plugged into a timer socket.

    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    371

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    More electric

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

  9. #9
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    17,776
    Thanks
    2,441
    Thanked:        2,673
    Karma Level
    1352

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    set up parental controls on the pc involved. I have this set so my son can use it till 10 at school days

    type parental controls in the start button. might have to down load it from microshaft also

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  10. #10
    DF PwNagE liveseytowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol, Unite
    Posts
    7,789
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked:        274
    Karma Level
    656

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    Quote Originally Posted by hilljd00 View Post
    That's annoying!

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
    Why is it annoying? Sounds perfect. What are you trying to achieve?

  11. #11
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    Quote Originally Posted by hilljd00 View Post
    More electric

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
    Pennies

    Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    DF PwNagE liveseytowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol, Unite
    Posts
    7,789
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked:        274
    Karma Level
    656

    Default Re: VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?

    In that case just turn it off at the plug when your not in or not using it. Job done

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Virgin Media poor wifi range on superhub
    By ss30 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11th August 2015, 08:20 AM
  2. Wifi and Virgin superhub 2
    By Itsme in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 16th July 2014, 10:43 PM
  3. [NEW] Competition time: Win a FREE skybox wifi dongle
    By Detector in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 18th December 2013, 08:36 AM
  4. [UK News] Band aid: ministers to call time on pub live music restrictions.
    By blaggard in forum News & Current Affairs
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th September 2011, 12:29 PM
  5. [Engadget] - iPad 3G's non-WiFi video playback restrictions detailed
    By DF Bot in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd May 2010, 02:40 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •