Close

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: VOIP issues

  1. #1
    DF Jedi theodotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,304
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked:        153
    Karma Level
    415

    Help VOIP issues

    Hi
    Need a bit of help, I got a cisco 7960 ip phone which was reprogrammed with sip firmware for 6 lines. I connected it all up and its on the network. I added in a sip account and can call out fine, however I cannot call in to the number and the call goes straight to voicemail.

    I'm with sky fibre broadband,

    Any ideas how I can resolve this.

    I've added in 3 sip accounts from 2 different providers and they all have the same issue where i can make calls but cannot recieve.

    thanks for any help

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    371

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    Does your Sky router have built in firewall? You may need to reduce the protection or forward ports
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

    Thanks to Rick Sanchez

    theodotcom (17th April 2014) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi Tim.Lad's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Badlands
    Posts
    2,073
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked:        250
    Karma Level
    375

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    Try port forwarding port 5060 to the internal IP of the phone...

    Otherwise try a different sip aware router or one that supporst SIP-ALG there is a very good chance the phone is telling the sip provider the internal IP of the phone and not the WAN ip of the router
    VIP WOOP !

    2 Thanks given to Tim.Lad

    Over Carl (17th April 2014), theodotcom (17th April 2014) 


  4. #4
    DF Jedi theodotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,304
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked:        153
    Karma Level
    415

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    This is how the firewall on the router looks, but i think this isnt right because its still not working.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    any suggestions?

  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,190
    Thanks
    4,330
    Thanked:        1,779
    Karma Level
    1320

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim.Lad View Post
    Try port forwarding port 5060 to the internal IP of the phone...

    Otherwise try a different sip aware router or one that supporst SIP-ALG there is a very good chance the phone is telling the sip provider the internal IP of the phone and not the WAN ip of the router
    I suspect this is the case - the 79xx are fussy beasts that are only really meant to be used in SCCP mode with a Callmanager. Every SIP firmware I've found up to the latest is buggy.

    I use 7970's myself, but I only register them with local servers, never got them to work right with NAT in the middle.

    I've been round the net and looked for guides, I'm sure I found an XML file that should have worked, and that specified the WAN ip (router IP) as these phones don't use any mechanisms like STUN which is normally found to determine the WAN ip.

    As much as I've previously found SIP-ALG to be an undesirable PITA, in this case it might do the trick.

    So if you have a static IP, you may be able to get it working, or you may be able to get it working with a router that supports SIP-ALG but I would either pick different phones or set up a local server.

    Thanks to Over Carl

    theodotcom (17th April 2014) 


  6. #6
    DF Jedi Tim.Lad's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Badlands
    Posts
    2,073
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked:        250
    Karma Level
    375

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    Delete the firewall rules first the try setting up the sip account in phoner lite first and see if it works on that

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    VIP WOOP !

    Thanks to Tim.Lad

    theodotcom (17th April 2014) 


  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,190
    Thanks
    4,330
    Thanked:        1,779
    Karma Level
    1320

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    Also you only need to setup inbound in your firewall, no need to setup outbound rules.

    Thanks to Over Carl

    theodotcom (17th April 2014) 


  8. #8
    DF Jedi theodotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,304
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked:        153
    Karma Level
    415

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    I previously had it working fine on an app on iphone over wifi, didnt need to change any ports or anything for that to work? is that the same as trying it with phonerlite or shall i still try it with phonerlite?

    overcarl what do you mean by a local server?

    thanks for the help. so fustrating as i can make outgoing calls from 3 lines but cannot recieve on any.

  9. #9
    DF Jedi theodotcom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,304
    Thanks
    242
    Thanked:        153
    Karma Level
    415

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    ok deleted all the firewall rules installed phonerlite and it worked no problem.

    even more confused now, as its not the broadband settings.

  10. #10
    DF Jedi Tim.Lad's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Badlands
    Posts
    2,073
    Thanks
    344
    Thanked:        250
    Karma Level
    375

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    I don't work on Cisco IP phones but like overkarl says I suspect the phone is not detecting the wan IP and sending an internal IP in the registration, phoner lite is my GOTO programme for testing a SIP account before using anything else as it does a good job of nat traversal

    I would get or borrow a dd-wrt router that has a sip-proxy built-in to test or like I mentioned one with SIP-ALG

    Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk
    VIP WOOP !

    Thanks to Tim.Lad

    Over Carl (18th April 2014) 


  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,190
    Thanks
    4,330
    Thanked:        1,779
    Karma Level
    1320

    Default Re: VOIP issues

    Quote Originally Posted by theodotcom View Post
    overcarl what do you mean by a local server?
    Set up something like asterisk, 3cx, sipxecs, etc to connect to your sip trunks then get your phones to connect to this.

    Proxy on DD-WRT as Tim.Lad should do the same thing, or router with SIP-ALG may sort it out as well.

    Personally, I found 8.5.4 to be the most usable firmware.

Similar Threads

  1. Playstation Online Issues + COD4 Issues
    By jimbo77 in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th February 2008, 05:24 PM
  2. PAP2 and VOIP Issues
    By chesser in forum PC Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th September 2006, 05:42 PM
  3. Poker player mag 3 Issues Free/ Inside Edge 3 Issues £1
    By Mule in forum Cheapskates Corner
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th April 2006, 03:56 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •