Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    684

    Default Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Hi guys,

    I have a knackered old iphone 4 and fancy switching to an s4 mini, however i have a stupidly cheap deal with o2, which is a pay monthly iphone deal, with unlimited data and enough minutes and texts for my needs (300mins and unlimited texts.) £15 a month.

    If i changed phones would O2 suss and tell me to get a new deal. I'm guessing they would but they both use micro sim so would i get away with it?

    Cheers
    mml
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  2. #2
    DF Jedi littlebilly1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dudley
    Posts
    2,417
    Thanks
    1,321
    Thanked:        425
    Karma Level
    329

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    My dad lost his contract phone with 3 on Saturday, I rang up to get the services blocked but was worried that the phone wouldn't be able to be blocked because it was a replacement handset, they said as soon as a sim goes in another phone it reports the info back to them


    Sent From TapaTalk

    Thanks to littlebilly1

    muttleymacclad (12th May 2014) 


  3. #3
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,514
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,697
    Karma Level
    987

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Would they know, yes.
    Would they care, no.

    3 Thanks given to beerman

    littlebilly1 (12th May 2014), muttleymacclad (12th May 2014), Zoots (12th May 2014) 


  4. #4
    DF Jedi consoles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Way out there
    Posts
    2,829
    Thanks
    383
    Thanked:        961
    Karma Level
    389

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    only thing you will need to change, and they wont give a monkeys is the data plan from iphone to standard plan.

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    684

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Quote Originally Posted by consoles View Post
    only thing you will need to change, and they wont give a monkeys is the data plan from iphone to standard plan.
    Ahh, but therein lies my dilemma. My data is unlimited on this deal.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  6. #6
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    299

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    All you can do is try it, if they call you say you were testing a new phone and swap it back.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

    Thanks to Hangman

    muttleymacclad (12th May 2014) 


  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator JonEp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    2,369
    Thanks
    1,277
    Thanked:        995
    Karma Level
    392

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Yep they can tell the handset type connected to their network as IMEI identifies it.

    Not sure that deal is so good though..

    Giffgaff appears to have a better offering on PAYG?

    Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

    Thanks to JonEp

    muttleymacclad (12th May 2014) 


  8. #8
    DF Jedi Zoots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hoth
    Posts
    3,329
    Thanks
    1,648
    Thanked:        1,322
    Karma Level
    395

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Done the same mate. On my 3rd different phone on a cheap iPhone tariff from years ago (£10). Nothing to worry about.

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

    Thanks to Zoots

    muttleymacclad (12th May 2014) 


  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,375
    Thanks
    1,198
    Thanked:        3,447
    Karma Level
    1595

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Virgin have a £15/month rolling sim which is unlimited everything and afaik operates on the EE network. When my O2 business contract ends I am thinking of moving if they have femtocells available.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    muttleymacclad (12th May 2014) 


  10. #10
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    684

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Thanks all. May just give it a whirl if it worked for zoots.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  11. #11
    DF Jedi TAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    My home
    Posts
    2,417
    Thanks
    287
    Thanked:        240
    Karma Level
    345

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    I had my contract for years, paying 10.50 a month on sim only.( Was offered it as a deal ). Ive gone from iphone 3 to a 4 to galaxy s3 and s4, never had a problem. I even phoned em up and got a new sim, and then got them to activate it.

    So to answer your question, you will b fine m8.
    TAR seems to be a decent bloke!

    Thanks to TAR

    muttleymacclad (12th May 2014) 


  12. #12
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    299

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Virgin have a £15/month rolling sim which is unlimited everything and afaik operates on the EE network. When my O2 business contract ends I am thinking of moving if they have femtocells available.
    If you are a Virgin TV subscriber, call them up to cancel and they will reduce the cost, I have done this for my daughters phone and she now has 200mins, 3000 texts and 1GB data for £6.58 per month.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  13. #13
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,022
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        837
    Karma Level
    337

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Yeah O2 will know diff phone but they don't give a shit what you use, as soon as you put sim in and turn on they will send you a txt about setting up your data/mms connections which you just save the settings from.

    Thanks to akimba

    muttleymacclad (13th May 2014) 


  14. #14
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1172

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Not sure they care.

    I have a PAYG Sim from them that I use in a £10 Samsung purely to keep Priority Moments Alive.
    I use Priority Moments on my iPhone using a different networks sim card!

    So I think you will be Ok.
    We all make mistakes sometimes

    Thanks to Goldberg

    muttleymacclad (13th May 2014) 


  15. #15
    DF Jedi Zippeyrude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,334
    Thanks
    243
    Thanked:        803
    Karma Level
    524

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    the IMEI is picked up on the call detail records, but they will not be concerned if you are using a different handset - only if you stop paying the bill!

    Thanks to Zippeyrude

    muttleymacclad (13th May 2014) 


  16. #16
    DF Jedi Mr.James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    town
    Posts
    4,264
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked:        408
    Karma Level
    562

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    GiffGaff do 500mins, unlimited texts and Internet for £15. Or 250 minutes, unlimited texts and Internet for £12.

  17. #17
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    684

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Thanks all.
    The deal I have including a cheeky little discount arranged by a poster in this thread means I'm happy with my deal. So will grab a galaxy s4 mini I reckon off eBay.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  18. #18
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1172

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    I saw a deal on the Galaxy S4 Mini the other day.. How much are you looking at Spending? I will try and find the deal (I think it was on Pikey we fuck you mom if she is hot or cold HUKD)
    We all make mistakes sometimes

  19. #19
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    684

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Cheers Goldberg.
    Unlocked on eBay seem to go for £170+, locked to O2 about £150.

    Edit: just looked on hot uk twats and this is the deal. Looks like an eu phone, there's 4 left in stock

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by muttleymacclad; 13th May 2014 at 01:03 PM.
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  20. #20
    DF Probation Goldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Landaaaan!
    Posts
    14,466
    Thanks
    1,333
    Thanked:        1,558
    Karma Level
    1172

    Default Re: Can O2 tell if i've changed handsets?

    Probably the one I saw? I would research anyone I bought from first though!
    We all make mistakes sometimes

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [NEW] Sky HD Handsets
    By Realist in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th July 2012, 11:18 PM
  2. F/S x2 SE K800i Handsets
    By Termy in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th September 2007, 10:59 PM
  3. Replacement Handsets
    By Stinky Pete in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th October 2006, 12:30 PM
  4. 12,000 3 handsets stolen
    By BrianT in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 25th March 2006, 02:50 PM
  5. DECT handsets
    By Hippie on hill in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th April 2004, 12:48 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •