Close

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Skybox F5s audio out options

    Hi guys,

    Anyone able to tell me if the R&W Phonos on the rear of the F5s are for Audio out? If so can I use a Phono into 3.5mm jack along side the HDMI out?

    Reason I ask is..

    I want to connect the F5s to my projector.

    My projector only has DVI input, so I normally use a HDMI > DVI cable from my normal Skybox, and run an optical sound lead from the Skybox to my TV, with my TV linking it's sound to my home cinema.

    I want to use the same HDMI cable into DVI into my projector. But with no sound ports on the F5s, only way I can think of is to run the phonos from the F5s into the 3.5mm AUX input on the home cinema.

    Anyone ever tested these?

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa big3card's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    walsall
    Posts
    504
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked:        69
    Karma Level
    178

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Yes there for audio out ... stereo format . I have all hdmi's running to tv then from the tv audio optical out to the amp optical in ... cant see why you use a dvi cable and optical when a hdmi would cover both providing your tv supports, then you could do away with the optical

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member
    Detector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Grim North
    Posts
    7,657
    Thanks
    2,686
    Thanked:        2,800
    Karma Level
    1150

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    yes ive got them connected to my pc's recon 3d line in (input) and it sounds sweet in 5.1)

    I might have a spare cable somewhere which ill post you free of charge, let me have a root through my stuff tonight mate
    A wise man once said " "

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member
    Detector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Grim North
    Posts
    7,657
    Thanks
    2,686
    Thanked:        2,800
    Karma Level
    1150

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    tell me exactly what you want
    A wise man once said " "

  5. #5
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Brilliant. I'm going to test run it tonight. Anyone see any problems with the HDMI out in the F5 working with the HDMI to Dvi cable because of that weird Hdcp handshake thing?

    Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member
    Detector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Grim North
    Posts
    7,657
    Thanks
    2,686
    Thanked:        2,800
    Karma Level
    1150

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    I get feedback sometimes like a crackling in the background - really tiny but there
    A wise man once said " "

  7. #7
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Ok, just set it all up.

    Connecting normal Sky HD Box, I can get a picture under the Input "RG (AV HDCP)" this works fine with Sky (Albeit HD Channels have slight lines running through, but SD channels are fine. Normal Sky HD Doesn't work on any other input options, which include:

    RGB Analogue (No Picture)
    RGB PC Digital (No Picture)
    RGB AV HDCP (Works with normal SKY HD Box)
    Component (No Picture)
    RGB Scart (No Picture)

    However when connecting the Skybox F5 up to the same HDMI to DVI cable I get this screen on PC Digital & AV HDCP and a blue screen on the Analogue, Component & Scart. (Ignore the Scrambled)




    I read up a while ago about the F5s not being able to complete this "handshake" between the Projector and the F5s.

    Any other ideas? Is there any setting on the F5 I need to change?

  8. #8
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,632
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked:        470
    Karma Level
    388

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    These boxes would help you out:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  9. #9
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Quote Originally Posted by reverend View Post
    These boxes would help you out:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Ah do I need to remove the HDCP from the signal for this to work?

    So are we saying the F5s doesn't support HDCP, where as my projector requires this in order to show correctly?

  10. #10
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,632
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked:        470
    Karma Level
    388

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    They strip the HDCP signal out totally - had to use one to get a BluRay player working on an older TV that had issues with the HDCP handshake with the same sort of cable.

  11. #11
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Ah brilliant.

    So this box goes between the F5 and the Projector?

    So you'd have:

    F5s > HDMI cable > This HDCP Box > HDMI into DVI > Projector

    Is that right?

  12. #12
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,632
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked:        470
    Karma Level
    388

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    That's it mate - these little boxes are a great little secret - things like the HDFury are over 100 quid!

  13. #13
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Ah - Thanks for that mate. Bought it now so look forward to the boxing on the projector, and now it'll do for future events too!

    Another Q then if I can. The audio leads (phono to 3.5mm) do they have to be red and white?

    I've got this one which is black and red to 3.5mm and when I tried it before, it didn't bring any audio. Wondering if they need to be Red & White only?

  14. #14
    DF Jedi greens117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,460
    Thanks
    1,111
    Thanked:        253
    Karma Level
    473

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    I have one you can have for free just pay postage.

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk
    I STINK GET OVER IT !

  15. #15
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Quote Originally Posted by greens117 View Post
    I have one you can have for free just pay postage.

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk

    Very kind of you mate. I've just dropped you a PM!.

    Top man.

  16. #16
    DF Jedi greens117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,460
    Thanks
    1,111
    Thanked:        253
    Karma Level
    473

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    No worries will have to dig the power adapter out but I'll send it asap before Sat!

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk
    I STINK GET OVER IT !

    Thanks to greens117

    BigBrand (28th May 2014) 


  17. #17
    DF Jedi greens117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,460
    Thanks
    1,111
    Thanked:        253
    Karma Level
    473

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Sent Thursday first class mate, should get it Saturday? Unless you received it already?

    Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk
    I STINK GET OVER IT !

  18. #18
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: Skybox F5s audio out options

    Cheers mate. Not received so will look out tomorrow. Cheers bud

    Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Audio But No Video on Skybox F5 and F5s
    By Detector in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th June 2014, 04:02 PM
  2. [HELP] Skybox
    By carlharro in forum Digital & Cable TV
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th December 2013, 01:54 PM
  3. [HELP] Skybox f5
    By big3card in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th December 2013, 09:02 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •