Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    214

    Default Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    I got the new package yesterday

    On Ethernet I get 167 meg but here is the problem

    On wifi even sat next to the superhub I get less than 1meg on speedtest.
    In back room I get nothing as the signal must be really weak.

    The box the guy took away worked perfect and I used to get about 47 meg on wifi in back room.

    What is up with the superhub 2 and wifi

    Has anyone else had this problem and found a solution

    It is 5.0 Ghz and 2.0 GHZ and messign about switiching either on or off has no effect

    Crap wifi on Samsung and iphone phones.

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    684

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    Have you changed channels on the box to see if that makes a difference? Alternatively get a powerful wifi router and put the hub in modem mode.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  3. #3
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    299

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    I have the superhub 2 and find it much better than the SH1. Similar wired speeds to you and getting 50-60mb via wifi depending on where in the house I test.

    I agree with muttley there must be a channel conflict of something causing such a slow down in speed.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  4. #4
    DF Rookie minty-72's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        2
    Karma Level
    91

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    Try insider:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  5. #5
    DF Jedi supraman54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NW Kent
    Posts
    1,278
    Thanks
    440
    Thanked:        350
    Karma Level
    323

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    I wouldn't use my superhub for Wifi.. my trusty Asus 66NU gives me great wifi and has a megabit WAN side interface
    to maximise on the "over 100Meg" bandwidth.
    I leave my superhub in modem mode

    supe
    https://www.speedtest.net/result/2920820230.png

  6. #6
    DF Jedi Zippeyrude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,334
    Thanks
    243
    Thanked:        803
    Karma Level
    524

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    i have a sh2 and found it to be an unreliable piece of crap

    ive changed channels etc and really regret having changed to virgin

  7. #7
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    16,086
    Thanks
    974
    Thanked:        1,291
    Karma Level
    1390

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    wifi on my superhub is slow. I really should invest in some homeplugs really
    PC gamer, steam ID maltloafs
    Xbox gamer, xbox live ID maltyuk

    i5 6600k @ 4.6GHz
    1660Ti OC
    16GB
    Lenovo Explorer VR
    Hyper X Alloy FPS keyboard
    LG Ultrawide IPS monitor
    Corsair Glaive mouse
    Corsair HS60 headset

    Xbox One S (mainly used for 4k bluray)
    Nintendo Switch

  8. #8
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    684

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    I have to say my SH2 is pretty good. I even ditched my Apple Airport Extreme because the sh2 was better.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa Nathz29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    810
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked:        107
    Karma Level
    195

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    Quote Originally Posted by supraman54 View Post
    I wouldn't use my superhub for Wifi.. my trusty Asus 66NU gives me great wifi and has a megabit WAN side interface
    to maximise on the "over 100Meg" bandwidth.
    I leave my superhub in modem mode

    supe
    Exactly the same as I do, had any problems with the 5GHz wifi on your N66U? Mine seems very flakey I use the Tomato firmware?

    Cheers

  10. #10
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    214

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    hmm conflicting replies

    some say its good - other say its crap

    ive changed the channels and I still cannot get higher than 1 meg speed out of wifi

    Ethernet is fine - no problems there - its just wifi

    I may have to go in modem only mode and add a decent router

    shame really

  11. #11
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    214

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    kk I managed to sort this out

    I had to switch the superhub into modem only mode and then reboot the modem.
    Then I switched back to normal superhub mode and it worked fine.
    Not sure why but something must of been dodgy


    anyway on my phones I am getting 53mbps - on the main computer im getting 153mbps

    Is this correct for the speed or should I be getting more on the phones or are phones limited to a certain speed ??
    Last edited by Itsme; 25th June 2014 at 11:25 AM.

  12. #12
    DF PiMP Bobby Bouché's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cardiff
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked:        46
    Karma Level
    259

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    I get slow wifi on the 2g and 100meg on the 5g side of the modem. It's odd when adding things such as a Roku 3. it doesnt see it.

  13. #13
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    214

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    not as super as its made out to be

  14. #14
    DF PlaYa psxcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london/s.wales
    Posts
    788
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked:        90
    Karma Level
    340

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    not had a problem with mine im on the 100 meg deal which i get hardwired no problem on my wireless set up it sits around 95 meg on the 2.4ghz setting

  15. #15
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    514

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    As above, just use mine in modem mode.

  16. #16
    DF Jedi supraman54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NW Kent
    Posts
    1,278
    Thanks
    440
    Thanked:        350
    Karma Level
    323

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    The firmware is better now as the first versions of SH were abominable but yes ... modem mode is the way to go because the
    inbuilt router is very limited

    supe
    https://www.speedtest.net/result/2920820230.png

  17. #17
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    514

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    There's also the risk with wps where even turned off its not actually off.

  18. #18
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    214

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    this is pissing me off now

    ive reset hub and im getting less than 1 meg on wifi

    Hard wired is fine

    Im using Speedtest on my S4 to test wifi

    Why am I getting so little - what has gone wrong

  19. #19
    DF Jedi Zippeyrude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,334
    Thanks
    243
    Thanked:        803
    Karma Level
    524

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    i regret getting virgin

  20. #20
    DF PiMP Itsme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked:        31
    Karma Level
    214

    Default Re: Wifi and Virgin superhub 2

    same ere

    anyway I ran the superhub in modem mode and stuck it though a router (DLINK)
    on internet speed hard wired im now getting 82 meg maxs
    on WIFI im now getting average 5 megs

    What the hell is up with this this crappy SUPERHUB

    gonna ring virgin tomorrow as its been one prob after another - no good if cant use wifi around the house.

    Annoying aint the word

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [NEW] Virgin's 'NEW' wifi on the go. Heres how to opt out
    By satzzz in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 8th May 2017, 10:36 PM
  2. Virgin Media poor wifi range on superhub
    By ss30 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11th August 2015, 08:20 AM
  3. VM Superhub wifi time restrictions?
    By Rick Sanchez in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st April 2014, 09:22 AM
  4. Sad but happy with virgin media superhub II
    By muttleymacclad in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2nd March 2014, 03:56 PM
  5. [HELP] Virgin Media SuperHUB
    By pratman in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 18th April 2012, 07:28 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •