Close

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Wifi AP Issues

  1. #1
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,292
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked:        372
    Karma Level
    359

    Default Wifi AP Issues

    Hi Fellas

    Ive got a bit of an issue and think one of you more IT literal guru's will be able to help me with.
    Basically I have a switch plugged into a homeplug that is in turn plugged into my superhub.
    I found an old router and after some serious reading on converting it to an access point thought I would get it going as my wifi upstairs in the house is shit.

    Got it all set up and ready to go and nowt.
    I can see the router broadcasting not a problem however when I try to access the router main page to change DHCP etc I get nothing.
    I cant even access it if it is wired to my macbook and the wifi etc is turned off.

    Can anyone help a brother out??

    Thanks in advance

    Jaygo

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE burner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South West
    Posts
    7,584
    Thanks
    340
    Thanked:        698
    Karma Level
    1277

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    Try resetting it and finding out what the default IP is (most have this info on a label on the base), connect via cable to it then set your macbook IP to a static one just below or above the device's one mate. That's what I do for my setup then I can do the config side of it. Also check any wireless routers/ ap points have the right settings for ap (i.e: bridge/ repeater etc.).

  3. #3
    DF Jedi Northernbloke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Geordieland
    Posts
    3,040
    Thanks
    860
    Thanked:        325
    Karma Level
    451

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    Is it using the same ip address as your hub?

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    DF Jedi Northernbloke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Geordieland
    Posts
    3,040
    Thanks
    860
    Thanked:        325
    Karma Level
    451

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    Try just hooking it up with a cable to your laptop and checking the configuration

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    DF PlaYa Rhinoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    970
    Thanks
    498
    Thanked:        390
    Karma Level
    158

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by jaygo View Post
    .......thought I would get it going as my wifi upstairs in the house is shit.

    Jaygo
    Out of interest have you turned the channel on your router to a less occupied one?

    You never know it could help.

  6. #6
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,512
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,697
    Karma Level
    986

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    What router is it and how was it converted? Did you flash a new firmware on it and if you did what firmware?

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,292
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked:        372
    Karma Level
    359

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    Reset the whole thing then turned of DHCP on the MacBook.
    Was plugging the Ethernet into the WAN port instead of the LAN port so that got me logged in this morning.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,292
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked:        372
    Karma Level
    359

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    Problem with hooking the cable up was that I was unable to log on to the router.
    Now using a static IP address I set manually.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,292
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked:        372
    Karma Level
    359

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    Ok update
    I managed to get the router connected have re set it and have given it a static IP.
    That's all fine however I can connect wired but the wireless signal is shocking still any ideas??


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,512
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,697
    Karma Level
    986

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    You tried changing the channel? Download something that will show what networks can be seen and what channels they are on Xirrus wifi inspecter will do the job. Try and avoid using the same channel as someone else.

    Also what have you called the SSID? If you called it the same as your original SSID are you sure it's not connecting to the other AP?

  11. #11
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,292
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked:        372
    Karma Level
    359

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by beerman View Post
    You tried changing the channel? Download something that will show what networks can be seen and what channels they are on Xirrus wifi inspecter will do the job. Try and avoid using the same channel as someone else.

    Also what have you called the SSID? If you called it the same as your original SSID are you sure it's not connecting to the other AP?
    I'll have a look at that software when I get back home.
    As for the name I named it something different should it be the same as my superhub then??


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,512
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,697
    Karma Level
    986

    Default Re: Wifi AP Issues

    You don't have to, I was just checking because if you did you may have been connected to the superhub instead of the ap which could explain getting a crap signal upstairs.

Similar Threads

  1. Wifi issues since update
    By Leather in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th May 2011, 06:40 PM
  2. [iPhone] Wifi Issues with phone on charge
    By Goldberg in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th March 2011, 10:38 AM
  3. Playstation Online Issues + COD4 Issues
    By jimbo77 in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th February 2008, 05:24 PM
  4. Poker player mag 3 Issues Free/ Inside Edge 3 Issues £1
    By Mule in forum Cheapskates Corner
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th April 2006, 03:56 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •