Close

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,641
    Thanks
    2,630
    Thanked:        1,403
    Karma Level
    411

    Default Bravia and Sky HD box issue...

    we bought a Sony bravia 50w656a a few months back and have a rather annoying issue with our sky box.

    every time we turn the tv off, them back on again the tv doesn't hold the hdmi signal. We have to turn the sky hd box off then back on again to get tv.

    never had this problem with our last sony tv of an older model

    any thoughts?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,456
    Thanks
    230
    Thanked:        782
    Karma Level
    707

    Default Re: Bravia and Sky HD box issue...

    Have you looked on Sony's website if there's a software update available.

    also have you tried a different hdmi lead.

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member wakadoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    notts
    Posts
    3,341
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked:        366
    Karma Level
    469

    Default Re: Bravia and Sky HD box issue...

    is the tv defaulting to another hdmi input

    turning the skybox off and on is prob making the tv swap to the active one it then detects.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Why does "fat chance" and "slim chance" mean
    the same thing?

  4. #4
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,965
    Thanks
    383
    Thanked:        245
    Karma Level
    363

    Default Re: Bravia and Sky HD box issue...

    I would change the hdmi first mate . As it should search for an input when you boot the tv .
    if you have another input connected does it auto switch to that when you start the tv , ever hdmi or scart ?

  5. #5
    DF Jedi CallmeGoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    3,641
    Thanks
    2,630
    Thanked:        1,403
    Karma Level
    411

    Default Re: Bravia and Sky HD box issue...

    I'll try a different Hdmi later. I have a ps4, revo and the skybox going through a Hdmi switch then to the tv. Same setup as with my last Bravia.

    It doesn't default to another Hdmi when I turn it on. The screen just stays black until I turn the sky had box on and off . I'll post a video later.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,512
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,696
    Karma Level
    986

    Default Re: Bravia and Sky HD box issue...

    Quote Originally Posted by CallmeGoose View Post
    I'll try a different Hdmi later. I have a ps4, revo and the skybox going through a Hdmi switch then to the tv. Same setup as with my last Bravia.

    It doesn't default to another Hdmi when I turn it on. The screen just stays black until I turn the sky had box on and off . I'll post a video later.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Take the hdmi switch out of the equation too. Connect the Skybox directly to the TV and see if the issue persists.

  7. #7
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,017
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked:        836
    Karma Level
    336

    Default Re: Bravia and Sky HD box issue...

    Its got 2 HDMI's, I would plug SKY into HDMI 1 port and HDMI Switch into HDMI 2 port

    Thanks to akimba

    CallmeGoose (17th July 2014) 


Similar Threads

  1. New Sony Bravia Ad
    By willp2003 in forum Funny/Strange Video Clips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th October 2007, 02:32 AM
  2. New Sony Bravia advert Must see!
    By FireBlade in forum Hall Of Shame
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd October 2006, 10:41 AM
  3. New Sony Bravia Advert
    By Anakin in forum Funny/Strange Video Clips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st October 2006, 10:55 PM
  4. Sony Bravia HD tv's
    By Roach-Rampino in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th June 2006, 08:25 PM
  5. Tango Bravia?
    By gunner in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th May 2006, 01:33 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •