Close

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    683

    Default Which media streaming device do you use?

    Hi all

    Interested to see what devices people are using to stream their media to tv.

    Currently using an old atv2 JB running plex along with a now tv box upstairs. Looking to change the Atv2 as it only does 720p and for the odd time i got 1080p i'd like to actually get the benefit of 1080p.

    So come on, what do you guys use and why?

    ta
    MML
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,512
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,697
    Karma Level
    986

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    I've got a ultra small form factor core i5 Lenovo m93p for streaming and running a few other bits connected to the TV. This streams from a N40L microserver running Plex and a 8 bay Drobo pro FS as my storage.

    I've tried a few android boxes, raspberry pi etc but found them too laggy, hence the overkill core i5 as I want a smooth experience.

    The only issue I have is the drobo spins the drives down after an hour so on the first run of a film/tv show it's a 10 second wait until the drives spin up. Not so much of an issue really as I've stopped watching live TV apart from football and the news so they don't get a chance to spin down after the first run. There's a setting I can change to stop them spinning down after an hour but I'd rather wait 10 seconds than pay the extra money on the already expensive electric bill.

    Thanks to beerman

    muttleymacclad (18th September 2014) 


  3. #3
    DF PwNagE WRATH OF BOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Monkey Hangers
    Posts
    6,692
    Thanks
    2,689
    Thanked:        1,268
    Karma Level
    809

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    plex on 4 now tv boxes & a WD live tv. i love the WDTV as it plays everything i throw at it, all the plex stuff is accessed from a 4TB hard drive attached to the WDtv box & then connected to my router.

    2 Thanks given to WRATH OF BOD

    ivrytwr3 (17th September 2014), muttleymacclad (18th September 2014) 


  4. #4
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,512
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,697
    Karma Level
    986

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by WRATH OF BOD View Post
    plex on 4 now tv boxes & a WD live tv. i love the WDTV as it plays everything i throw at it, all the plex stuff is accessed from a 4TB hard drive attached to the WDtv box & then connected to my router.
    What's running plex server?

  5. #5
    DF PwNagE WRATH OF BOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Monkey Hangers
    Posts
    6,692
    Thanks
    2,689
    Thanked:        1,268
    Karma Level
    809

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by beerman View Post
    What's running plex server?
    it runs on my personal PC, its on 24/7, i play games run a tv card all at the same time and never falters fingers crossed

  6. #6
    DF PlaYa ivrytwr3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    892
    Thanks
    817
    Thanked:        499
    Karma Level
    181

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    WDTV - plays everything i throw at it and is simple to use (has to be as i got it for technophobe wifey to use too).

    Thanks to ivrytwr3

    muttleymacclad (18th September 2014) 


  7. #7
    DF Admin maltloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hereford, Here
    Posts
    16,086
    Thanks
    974
    Thanked:        1,291
    Karma Level
    1389

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    We used a WDTV for a year or so which was great and as mentioned, missus proof but I always had a hankering to go back to a HTPC so I have built up a cheap dual core machine for a bit more flexibility. We use an airmouse app from our phones (both iPhone and android) and iPads to control it.
    PC gamer, steam ID maltloafs
    Xbox gamer, xbox live ID maltyuk

    i5 6600k @ 4.6GHz
    1660Ti OC
    16GB
    Lenovo Explorer VR
    Hyper X Alloy FPS keyboard
    LG Ultrawide IPS monitor
    Corsair Glaive mouse
    Corsair HS60 headset

    Xbox One S (mainly used for 4k bluray)
    Nintendo Switch

    Thanks to maltloaf

    muttleymacclad (18th September 2014) 


  8. #8
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    683

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    thanks guys. Following on from this and malty's sale thread. How would you guys who use Plex, access shared plex servers on wdtv or is this not possible?

    thanks
    mml
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator BertRoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Poppy Fields
    Posts
    24,081
    Thanks
    1,208
    Thanked:        2,284
    Karma Level
    2699

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Old school. Still rocking two Popcorn Hour A110s


  10. #10
    DF Jedi CominAtcha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    3,280
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked:        166
    Karma Level
    438

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    I simply have a long HDMI cable for downstairs. But upstairs a Chromecast with Plex on the iPad does me just fine.

    Pretty sure there has been an update recently to either Plex or the Chromecast also, as when I first bought it you could deffo see a drop in quality, but now it seems almost flawless even at 1080p!

  11. #11
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Been running a ZyXEL NSA310 and WD TV Live for 3 years and just last week changed to;

    HP N54L running Windows 8.1 Pro with Plex Server and a NowTV box with Plex in Living Room and a NowTV box with Plex in Bedroom. Plex apps on iPad, Hudl, iPhone and my SGS4 running Cyanogenmod.

  12. #12
    DF PwNagE liveseytowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol, Unite
    Posts
    7,789
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked:        274
    Karma Level
    656

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Bry what format is your media in? I cant believe people run so many devices from one Plex server. All my stuff is 1080p mkv so im guessing your stuff is mp4?

  13. #13
    DF PwNagE WRATH OF BOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Monkey Hangers
    Posts
    6,692
    Thanks
    2,689
    Thanked:        1,268
    Karma Level
    809

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by liveseytowers View Post
    Bry what format is your media in? I cant believe people run so many devices from one Plex server. All my stuff is 1080p mkv so im guessing your stuff is mp4?
    all formats without any issue, i havent found a format it will not play.

  14. #14
    DF Jedi stimpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The TV.
    Posts
    2,046
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked:        248
    Karma Level
    375

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    I have a RasPi running RaspBMC and an old PC running upstairs with a 2TB drive with folders NFS shared.

    Thanks to stimpy

    muttleymacclad (20th September 2014) 


  15. #15
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    513

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Plex on a (I think 2010) Mac mini, both server and player (unless using the tv app, ipad or away from home).

    Thanks to blacksheep

    muttleymacclad (20th September 2014) 


  16. #16
    DF PwNagE liveseytowers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol, Unite
    Posts
    7,789
    Thanks
    518
    Thanked:        274
    Karma Level
    656

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by WRATH OF BOD View Post
    all formats without any issue, i havent found a format it will not play.
    I can play all formats on one NowTV as it transcodes but i recon it would struggle with 2 films transcoding on the NL54. I keep all the kids films in one folder and convert everything it to mp4 with 2.0 audio so it can play on the kids NowTVs direct.

  17. #17
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    683

    Default Re: Which media streaming device do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by liveseytowers View Post
    I can play all formats on one NowTV as it transcodes but i recon it would struggle with 2 films transcoding on the NL54. I keep all the kids films in one folder and convert everything it to mp4 with 2.0 audio so it can play on the kids NowTVs direct.
    Have a look at resource monitor on the server to see what resources are being used. I find if any of my films buffer, it's often high disk usage not CPU or memory. Quite often that's to do with when WHS looks / instals updates (trusted installer), If sab is downloading or if loads of chrome windows are open.

    I remote desktop into the server on my laptop when i need to check up on it.

    Also check that you server transcode settings are the same as the players.
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Thanks to muttleymacclad

    liveseytowers (20th September 2014) 


Similar Threads

  1. [iPhone] Streaming Media
    By MasterAbacus in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd January 2011, 12:52 AM
  2. [NEW] PC to TV media streaming
    By Swiss Tony in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 24th June 2009, 04:16 PM
  3. TT Media software on non-TT device?
    By Domokun in forum GPS / SatNav / Dashcam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th March 2009, 02:54 PM
  4. Media streaming since 2.5 update
    By BBK in forum Sony Consoles
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th November 2008, 12:04 AM
  5. re-streaming a stream? as a capture device?
    By bugnote in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd July 2006, 08:54 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •