Close

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    DF PlaYa mrphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    S. Wales
    Posts
    821
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked:        79
    Karma Level
    199

    Default Is coax the same as sat cable?

    Need to plumb in a openbox alongside my sky box
    But openbox is a single feed.

    working in the comms game I have reels of single core coax cable and sat connectors....

    will this his work the same as the sat cable. And will it be ok to go in to the dish lnb


    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE Geko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,971
    Thanks
    1,175
    Thanked:        1,281
    Karma Level
    601

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    Coaxial cable is a type of cable. Sat cable is a coaxial cable. Usually RG6 or PF100.


    Whatever coaxial cable you have, it will carry the satellite signal.

  3. #3
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,460
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        785
    Karma Level
    708

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    Its all coax M8 but cables are rated at different Impedance and satellite feed is rated at 75 Ohms.

    For example CB coax as its coax as a sample is rated at 50 Ohms.

    So it all depends on what type of coax it is.

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa mrphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    S. Wales
    Posts
    821
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked:        79
    Karma Level
    199

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    Checked my stock and it's 75ohm made by webro....

    I'm laughing then, just got to buy a 8 feed lnb now and run the lead in for up and down!

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,460
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        785
    Karma Level
    708

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    Yep your on the right track just need a octo now.

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member stevo25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    grim north
    Posts
    3,433
    Thanks
    1,606
    Thanked:        735
    Karma Level
    465

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    nah its not, sky guys tend to use WIRE and not coax

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,460
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        785
    Karma Level
    708

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    Talking shit again

    Quote Originally Posted by stevo25 View Post
    nah its not, sky guys tend to use WIRE and not coax

  8. #8
    DF VIP Member stevo25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    grim north
    Posts
    3,433
    Thanks
    1,606
    Thanked:        735
    Karma Level
    465

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    Quote Originally Posted by Realist View Post
    Talking shit again
    LOL nah mate, they use it to tie the ladders on.
    On a serious point I might have sold a bit more ct100, c56, wf100, ct125 etc than most people on here.
    And as Realist points out use the real stuff, 75 ohm solid copper core, air space or foam dielectric and ideally twin copper screening.

  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,195
    Thanks
    4,342
    Thanked:        1,779
    Karma Level
    1321

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    My sparky mate told me to use CT100 or WF100 for these kind of jobs.

    Edit: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] shows and explains a little more about the topic.
    Last edited by Over Carl; 29th October 2014 at 04:00 PM.

  10. #10
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,460
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked:        785
    Karma Level
    708

    Default Re: Is coax the same as sat cable?

    Yeh I like to run 2 lengths of CT100 myself but my kind and understanding employer dislikes it on standard installs, but I'm allowed to run it in a single length mind you on long runs its fine.

    2 Thanks given to Realist

    Over Carl (29th October 2014), stevo25 (29th October 2014) 


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th November 2009, 02:18 AM
  2. SKY+/HD Over Single Coax
    By Nibb in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th February 2008, 06:00 PM
  3. Coax?
    By Rob290482 in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 24th September 2005, 05:23 PM
  4. Xbox AV Lead, a digital coax option
    By nutty in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th January 2003, 10:17 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •