Close

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Tech Transfer content to FreeNAS Share from USB

    I decided to experiment with FreeNAS on my HP Microserver N54L.

    I only have a single 750G drive in there, and now a 2G flash drive in the Internal USB with FreeNAS on it.

    I've created a share, transferred a movie (8 Minutes for a 1.9GB file, 35mbps!) and I'm now installing PMS - I'm sure it'll all go well and work out OK.

    My problem though is the time taken to transfer that file, it was on my 500GB external drive connected to my PC via USB which is connected to my VM SuperHub 2 via a 200Mbps powerline adapter - my N54L is connected direct to the SH2.

    I've got a folder with 450GB of content to transfer to the share - it'll take ages this way (I've worked it out to be around 32 hours!) - is there a quicker method of connecting my external drive direct to the N54L and transferring direct to the share?

    The path for the file on the USB would be;

    E:\Media

    All files in the "Media" folder I'd like in the following share. (Like "Movies", "TV Shows", "Kids Movies", Etc)

    \\192.168.0.2\MediaShare

    Any thoughts? This is my first time using FreeNAS.

  2. #2
    DF Jedi flipper321's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    2,696
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked:        131
    Karma Level
    436

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    35mbps via homeplugs doesn't sound daft depending on your wiring. Need to take that out of the equation.

    Either copy to external usb and plug external usb direct to N54L

    Or

    Ethernet lead from PC to SH2?

  3. #3
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    The files are all on the external USB - but not sure how to transfer them to the share from the FreeNAS WebUI?

    I've got a long ethernet cable down ready to test - wife doesn't approve but if it speeds up enough that the transfer could run overnight it's no problem.

  4. #4
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Tried a direct connection, transfer speed coming in at 38.7 MB/s - should take a couple of hours to do the lot ... I'll just let it run.

    Next weekends plans, sourcing a loan of an SDS drill and running some Cat5e cable from the living room to the hall.

  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,943
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Can I ask why you went for free nas?
    im running xpenology and it's bloody quick and runs plex server and loads of over bits.

    i have a dedicated free as unit I bought off eBay and just didn't get on with it at all which is why I chose xpenology.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  6. #6
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    Can I ask why you went for free nas?
    im running xpenology and it's bloody quick and runs plex server and loads of over bits.

    i have a dedicated free as unit I bought off eBay and just didn't get on with it at all which is why I chose xpenology.
    The primary use for my N54L is for PMS and downloads (Torrent) - FreeNAS seems to do exactly what I need.

    I just looked up XPEnology and it seems to have a nicer UI - are there any other benefits of it? Easy to set up?

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,943
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Easy as piss mate it's all headless too so server is in the garage and all controlled via my ipad or pc.
    its got loads of plugins.

    i use download station which does torrents newsbins and http shares from upload sites like 4shared and much more.
    I use the RSS feed from bitsoup so whatever I bookmark downloads automatically.
    i run plex on mine as well as VPN server and web server.
    Photo station shares all my pictures to and from all of our iPhones etc.
    i have an app that syncs my dropbox and google drive with my server folder(s)
    the kids all have their own user accounts for downloading and sharing files etc.
    its worth a test at least!

    Loads of apps available
    Downloads..

    Sickbeard
    Couchpotato
    Sabnzbd
    transmission
    Headphones

    Web.

    Os commerce
    prestashop
    Phpbb
    wordpress
    Drupal
    joomla
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  8. #8
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    I've got a 2GB USB in the internal USB - can it run on that?

    Is it possible to transfer content from an attached USB to a share?

  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,943
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Quote Originally Posted by Brydo666 View Post
    I've got a 2GB USB in the internal USB - can it run on that?

    Is it possible to transfer content from an attached USB to a share?
    I transfer things from usb all the time so yes.
    as for usb drive it boots from a usb drive but needs to install the main os to a hdd.

    it will format the hdd though so make sure you don't mind formatting the hdd(s) you use.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  10. #10
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    I've still got the Media folder on the USB drive.

    Did you do the Non ESXi install? I found a guide from August that I could try.

  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,943
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Tbh honest I don't know which one I installed but I still have all the files if you want them?
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  12. #12
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    I've done it, didn't take long at all!

    I see there is a newer version available, but the XPEnology website shows there was an issue with it so downloads are cancelled.

    I'll play around with it for now.

  13. #13
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,943
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Add some community repos
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  14. #14
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,943
    Thanks
    2,204
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Package centre / settings / package sources / add

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

    Thanks to MrTeajunkie

    Brydo666 (28th October 2014) 


  15. #15
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    Thanks for your help mate, I'll do that.

    Got a volume created and transferring my content over now - pretty neat GUI.

  16. #16
    DF Jedi TriBot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,000
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked:        143
    Karma Level
    469

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    I have a FreeNAS server running as well.

    Running
    SabNZBd
    SickRage
    Plex
    Transmission for torrents (but i do not use them)
    CouchPototo
    Headphones.

    It all works great and downloads and sorts everything.
    My biggest grumble is that some of the plugins stop for no reason and are perfect again when they are manually restarted.

    I had quite a bit of hassle getting it working but other than these stops it is great. I have been transferring stuff fro USB VIA my my Mac and that is not too slow...

    Crash

  17. #17
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    490

    Default Re: Transfer content to FreeNAS

    So far so good, it's been great.

    One minor point, I seem to be having difficulty accessing shares from my desktop. It's never been a problem when it ran W8.1, FreeNAS or accessing my ZyXEL NSA310 - is there any "special" setup required for a share?

Similar Threads

  1. [REQUEST] freenas advice.
    By ThE gOg in forum PC Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th December 2012, 12:01 PM
  2. [HELP] Help! Need to transfer iPad content to iTunes. ( lost my back up )
    By sonysteve in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd November 2011, 07:57 PM
  3. [HELP] FreeNAS 8 - Settings?
    By Rick Sanchez in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th June 2011, 08:52 PM
  4. FreeNAS USB
    By Rick Sanchez in forum PC Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th April 2011, 09:57 PM
  5. FreeNAS - USB boot, how?
    By Rick Sanchez in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1st March 2011, 08:48 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •