Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28
  1. #1
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Help SKY in 2nd Location

    Hi

    I am looking at paying for my friend to have sky I currently have the full package + HD+ Multiroom

    Wondering whats the best solution do I just get another multi room and do a dodgy one by lending them a box or whats the best when legitimately via sky?

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    You could get a 2nd multiscreen box and give them the STB no phone lines are needed anymore.

  3. #3
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    STB? and is this dodgy or legit also their place doesn't have a dish, would I just buy one from ebay and put up meself or could I get a SKY engineer to do it?

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Multiscreen installs are supposed to be only in the home that the contract is "your home" and no where else but now there are no telephone lines needed taking the box to another home is ok'ish but against the terms and conditions.

    If you move it and there is no dish you would have to buy a dish, LNB, cable and set it all up yourself, Sky would not do it.

    2 Thanks given to Realist

    akimba (3rd November 2014), Over Carl (3rd November 2014) 


  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    5,047
    Thanks
    2,239
    Thanked:        2,457
    Karma Level
    621

    Default SKY in 2nd Location

    F5s
    Cheapest and best option imo.

    Sent from my iPhone using some Tapatalk thingy Mabob
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

    Thanks to MrTeajunkie

    Detector (4th April 2015) 


  6. #6
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    For one that's illegal stealing services that you've not paid for.



    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    F5s
    Cheapest and best option imo.

    Sent from my iPhone using some Tapatalk thingy Mabob

  7. #7
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Yeah I thought a multi room would be the cheapest option and thought you had to plug the box in m phone line once a month but if don't need to do that then even better.

    how accurate do you have to be in lining up the dish then can I do it without any specialist equipment, I am guessing needs be a bit more accurate than the old Ariel style where had someone saying left a bit, right a bit that's it keep it there ;-)

  8. #8
    DF VIP Member
    bobo06's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Béal Feirste
    Posts
    4,318
    Thanks
    475
    Thanked:        552
    Karma Level
    573

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    I share a multi room sub with my dad for about 6 months now i just told him not to connect it to the net Just incase they pick up on 2 different ips
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    J-Tag 360 RGH 360, PS3 Super Slim, Xbox 360 Slim, WDTV Live with CFW, Vu+ Solo 2, Dreambox 500HD Connected to 1M Motorised Dish.

    Thanks to bobo06

    akimba (3rd November 2014) 


  9. #9
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Yep that's the best options.

    Quote Originally Posted by bobo06 View Post
    I share a multi room sub with my dad for about 6 months now i just told him not to connect it to the net Just incase they pick up on 2 different ips

  10. #10
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Just but a cheap meter and look on YouTube for tips.

    Best of luck.


    Quote Originally Posted by akimba View Post
    Yeah I thought a multi room would be the cheapest option and thought you had to plug the box in m phone line once a month but if don't need to do that then even better.

    how accurate do you have to be in lining up the dish then can I do it without any specialist equipment, I am guessing needs be a bit more accurate than the old Ariel style where had someone saying left a bit, right a bit that's it keep it there ;-)

    Thanks to Realist

    akimba (3rd November 2014) 


  11. #11
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    302

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Or get a cheap Xbox 360 and he can access via your multi room subs over the interweb
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  12. #12
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Get a dodgy box, saves a fortune.

  13. #13
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Again illegal and stealing others content.

    Quote Originally Posted by BigBrand View Post
    Get a dodgy box, saves a fortune.

  14. #14
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Pretty sure uncle Rupert won't miss it.

  15. #15
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,240
    Thanks
    4,383
    Thanked:        1,809
    Karma Level
    1329

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Quote Originally Posted by Realist View Post
    For one that's illegal stealing services that you've not paid for.
    I've thanked you for post #4 - I am greatful for someone who has a different perspective to Joe Public answering with that kind of info.

    However I am a little confused about what gives you the right to take the moral high ground when you have also suggested theft* of services. (N.b. If one was to take your suggestion, there would have no valid agreement at the 2nd address so any usage there would be theft*).

    * To be totally honest I'm not sure I agree with the word theft but I've left it to make this discussion easier.

  16. #16
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Of course its theft its taking a service that you have not paid for in effect its stealing regardless of how people try and justify it.

    My comments above regarding moving a 2nd stb to another location is not theft is it, like people take their STB's to a caravan to watch Sky is not the same as using a legitimate box to decode a paying service illegally.

    But as usual people try and push the F5's and it is card sharing after all so its illegal full stop.

  17. #17
    Banned BigBrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks
    1,817
    Thanked:        2,061
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Just because it's deemed illegal, doesn't make it wrong - think on that one.

  18. #18
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,240
    Thanks
    4,383
    Thanked:        1,809
    Karma Level
    1329

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Ok, let me spell this out for you.

    For arguments sake, lets say you have a sub at home, then you also a 2nd box using multiroom.

    Are you allowed to use either of these boxes at any other location? NO

    So if you move them to another location and use them there, is there any valid agreement in place at the second location? NO

    So has any payment been made for the services received at the 2nd address? NO

    I think your argument would disagree with the line above, but think about it, whether you pay for one or a thousand services at one location and whether you use any of them at all is totally irrelevant to any other location under normal T&C's.

    Otherwise the whole country could group together and open one Sky account with literally millions of multiroom extra boxes to take this idea to the extreme. If you think just paying for a sub at one location is all that's needed, why can't I take my box from home to the pub to put on the big screen there?

    So whether it is by cheating multiroom, or other more elaborate schemes, the bottom line is at that address you are using a service you haven't paid for, and I believe you are choosing the word theft to describe this circumstance.

  19. #19
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    Now your splitting hairs.

    1) Multiscreen costs £12 a month extra that's £144 a year for the same package as the main box.
    2) Illegal F5's with full package costs as little as £30 a year.

    Now, its not up to me to tell someone what to do or how to run their lives but as above receiving a service that no agreement has been signed is theft, the difference is with multiscreen is an agreement has been signed although technically removing the box from the home registered is against the terms but its not theft or illegal unlike using illegal software to watch services you have not legally paid for.

  20. #20
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: SKY in 2nd Location

    You can but if Sky commercial find out the clubs in shit street without a paddle and the person who allows their card to be used in such a way may be prosecuted.

    Quote Originally Posted by Over carl View Post
    why can't I take my box from home to the pub to put on the big screen there?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. location faker
    By bbshark in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th March 2013, 11:27 PM
  2. Location - Change Computer Default Geographic Location
    By DF Bot in forum Windows 7 Tutorials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th June 2010, 12:00 AM
  3. same location different day
    By peterc4 in forum Your Photos & Artwork
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th October 2009, 09:09 AM
  4. Location?
    By Over Carl in forum Forum Suggestions & Feedback
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th January 2008, 07:32 PM
  5. Location Not Shown
    By Mr_Flash in forum Forum Bug & Error Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th December 2003, 08:22 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •