Close

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Hotel Wifi

  1. #1
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,297
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked:        376
    Karma Level
    363

    Default Hotel Wifi

    Hi Guys

    Im travelling a lot with work now and staying in various hotels. I have a NOW TV Box and my Plex account all working great however is there an application for Windows I can use to make the internet access from my laptop work with my NOW TV in the hotel using there wifi service.

    I hope this makes sense.

    Jaygo

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,761
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    687

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Do you mean you're taking the now tv to the hotel with you?
    Why not just watch plex on your laptop? If it has display out, connect it to the Tv.
    Or just connect the NowTV to the wifi in the hotel?

    Or am i missing the point?
    mml

  3. #3
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,525
    Thanks
    1,103
    Thanked:        1,704
    Karma Level
    992

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    No as there will be a splash page which the Now tv will not know how to negotiate.

    One way I got my xbox online on BT openzone was to bridge my wireless and wired connection.
    Connect the laptop to wireless and go through splash page.
    Look at the IP details on laptop.
    Manually set IP details on xbox (increasing last octet by 1)

    As the Now TV has no wired connection this will not work for you, would if you had a Roku as it has a LAN port.

    If you are running plex server on your laptop just use your phone as a hotspot and connect both to that rather than onto the hotel wifi.

  4. #4
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,525
    Thanks
    1,103
    Thanked:        1,704
    Karma Level
    992

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Or do as MML says and just connect the laptop directly to the hotel TV.

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,297
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked:        376
    Karma Level
    363

    Default Hotel Wifi

    Problem I have with the wifi is that I have to log in to the wifi service in the hotel
    So I wanted to use the wifi via the laptop to the now tv box and use it on the telly


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,420
    Thanks
    1,208
    Thanked:        3,468
    Karma Level
    1600

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Any tips on getting hotel wifi for free would also be handy I haven't played around with it but usually you get 30 minutes for free which is never enough and often it is very expensive to buy!!


  7. #7
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,965
    Thanks
    383
    Thanked:        245
    Karma Level
    367

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Just read this .[Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,237
    Thanks
    4,381
    Thanked:        1,808
    Karma Level
    1328

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Any tips on getting hotel wifi for free would also be handy I haven't played around with it but usually you get 30 minutes for free which is never enough and often it is very expensive to buy!!
    I'm guessing if you could change MAC address you could keep getting another 30 mins. I believe some drivers let you specify a MAC but I haven't actually tested this functionality.

    Thanks to Over Carl

    evilsatan (8th November 2014) 


  9. #9
    DF Jedi Mystical_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale
    Posts
    4,688
    Thanks
    1,223
    Thanked:        1,004
    Karma Level
    707

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    if theirs a PC in reception for you to use, get the MAC address from it, spoof your MAC to be the same and you should be ok
    also works for universities
    You know he grew up as a little shitspark from the old shitflint and then he turned into a shitbonfire and driven by the winds of his monumental ignorance he turned into a raging shitfirestorm. If I get to be married to Barb I'll have total control of Sunnyvale and then I can unleash the shitnami tidal wave that will engulf Ricky and extinguish his shitflames forever. And with any luck he'll drown in the undershit of that wave. Shitwaves.

    3 Thanks given to Mystical_2K

    Bensons (13th November 2014), evilsatan (8th November 2014), Northernbloke (8th November 2014) 


  10. #10
    DF VIP Member
    jaygo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    IN A HOUSE
    Posts
    2,297
    Thanks
    290
    Thanked:        376
    Karma Level
    363

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Quote Originally Posted by Mystical_2K View Post
    if theirs a PC in reception for you to use, get the MAC address from it, spoof your MAC to be the same and you should be ok
    also works for universities
    Daft question

    How would I do this??


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,420
    Thanks
    1,208
    Thanked:        3,468
    Karma Level
    1600

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Quote Originally Posted by jaygo View Post
    Daft question

    How would I do this??


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Depends if they are limited but hold the Windows key and press R, then type 'cmd' press enter, type 'ipconfig /all' and press enter then find the MAC address under the active network card.

    Then search google on how to spoof MAC as there are different methods then use the MAC from step one.

    I thought of the same OC when I was in a travelodge the other day and my iPhone ran out of the 30 mins, don't think there is a way to spoof Mac on there but poss if jailbroken which I will be doing soon


  12. #12
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    5,046
    Thanks
    2,237
    Thanked:        2,457
    Karma Level
    620

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    When we go to Cardiff and Nottingham and stay in a travelodge the kids always take their iPads after they use the free 30 mins wifi they sign up in a different name and email address for another free 30 mins.

    Wife has 10gb data allowance on her iphone so I just tether to that and there's no reason you couldn't do that with a now tv box.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  13. #13
    DF VIP Member stevo25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    grim north
    Posts
    3,443
    Thanks
    1,619
    Thanked:        740
    Karma Level
    469

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    I used to share a network connection at work, where I maxxed out a port using newsgroups but also allowing the rest of the guys to access the network as a wifi point. Then change mac address on laptop to appear to be another pc. Heres the info (WIN 7)
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  14. #14
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    517

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Yup, usually done on Mac address - was staying in the hilton in NY for a month and on day 3 or so was having issues with my wifi. Called support guys who twigged quickly that I knew what I was on about and just told them to put my Mac address (which I gave them) on the allowed list.

    They must have put it on the perm list as never had to log in/pay again.

    What at i do now is take an airport express and either plug it in via Ethernet or log on via it to the wifi so I can use all my devices through it and not pay for each one. Plenty of other good (and cheaper) travel routers out there for this kind of thing. Also usually take a 4 plug multi socket to maximise travel adapters.

  15. #15
    DF Jedi hoponbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    1,060
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked:        252
    Karma Level
    305

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    Any recommendations on something that can reshare a wifi signal, the airport express would work fine for sharing a wired to wifi but not if the only source is wifi.

    Caravan site that mom uses only allows one device for their extortionate charge so a stable reshare would be great for phones etc.

  16. #16
    DF Jedi koola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,684
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked:        167
    Karma Level
    275

    Default Re: Hotel Wifi

    I use a TP-Link TL-WR703N as a wi-fi repeater with a different network name.

    Thanks to koola2

    hoponbaby (20th November 2014) 


Similar Threads

  1. 2 wifi routers 1 house. Wifi fix...?
    By devs in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17th September 2015, 03:15 PM
  2. Hotel
    By Realist in forum The Comedy Club
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th September 2010, 08:49 PM
  3. £19 off your next hotel stay
    By GTI in forum Cheapskates Corner
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th August 2007, 02:54 PM
  4. Best Hotel
    By Nikki in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 23rd February 2006, 01:53 AM
  5. Hotel Bill
    By Yorkshire Bantam in forum The Comedy Club
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th August 2005, 05:12 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •