Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    9,132
    Thanks
    1,860
    Thanked:        4,065
    Karma Level
    990

    Help Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    At the moment, I'm on BT Infinity with these speeds - give or take a few MB.


    I'm very happy with the service with BT, but I feel I'm now paying through the nose for it.
    I'm on their 'special' service without limits or traffic shaping.

    My Line rental and monthly broadband, with extras (unlimited calls/europe minutes) is £55 per month.

    I'm after anyones opinion of Plusnet and whether or not it's worth me switching. I'm on a 'lower my expenditure' drive at the moment and want to save money anyway I can.

    I'm also considering returning to Sky, but seems as though they may not be able to provide over 38Mb speed in my area at the moment... is this true even though Infinity can!?


    --edit
    Would also appreciate any fellow DF'ers recommendations of other ISPs too.
    I'm after the exact same service from BT at a much better rate. Such a thing exist? Been with BT 2 years and it's getting too expensive now.
    Last edited by DejaVu; 10th November 2014 at 01:39 PM.

    Thanks to DejaVu

    cassy34 (10th November 2014) 


  2. #2
    DF Jedi Soulassassin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    2,777
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked:        365
    Karma Level
    431

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Been with plusnet before, never again. Cancelled there service and moved house only to be billed on the credit card required when I signed up with them for not replying to an email sent to my already cancelled email address. Thieving bastards wouldn't refund either.

    Thanks to Soulassassin

    DejaVu (10th November 2014) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi cassy34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Lytham
    Posts
    1,453
    Thanks
    246
    Thanked:        181
    Karma Level
    333

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Thinking about making exactly the same switch, so I will also be interested. Can't give my money to Sky though...

  4. #4
    DF PwNagE rIKmAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Stafford
    Posts
    6,502
    Thanks
    1,061
    Thanked:        645
    Karma Level
    625

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Years ago when I worked in IT all the fucking headaches I had were caused my these twats and 1and1.

    I'm not sure if they have got any better, but I would do some research on the net first before you sign up to anything.

  5. #5
    DF Jedi Ashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,062
    Thanks
    3,527
    Thanked:        504
    Karma Level
    289

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Currently have had plus net for over a year now with not any problems.

    Was advised by a friend who works for Ofcom to go with them.

    I'm sure they are owned by BT but run independently and they have done great offers when I joined.

    Thanks to Ashley

    Karoline (7th February 2015) 


  6. #6
    DF Jedi tiggerbiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    100 acre woods
    Posts
    2,186
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked:        201
    Karma Level
    403

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    ive been with them for 3 months now - alright, not exactly a longstanding customer!
    almost everything has been absolutely spot on for me, the only niggle was with the crap router that they sent me.
    sorted it with a draytek unit

    the woman that came round to set up the line said that plusnet lease everything from BT and so divert most staff to customer service type roles and seemed to her at least to be one of the better providers - she was from BT openreach

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,979
    Thanks
    3,522
    Thanked:        1,734
    Karma Level
    355

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Just left them. Was with them for 18 months.
    Initially they cocked up installation and refused to speed up the situation meaning I was going to be without Phone & BB for 2 weeks.
    An email to the CEO quickly sorted this situation.
    After this the service was flawless, never one issue.
    My reason for leaving is I was sucked in by cheap fibre (I got the full 80MB), but they rinse the hell out of you on phone calls.
    If you are hardly gonna use the landline then great, but I couldnt get this point through to the Mrs who would use the Land line instead of her mobile (Duh!).
    So I got fed up of monthly bills pushing £80ish

    Service = Great
    Price = Appears great but not so much

    Now get bills of about £45 a month with same setup but different provider. (Talktalk, service shit, good n cheap while its working - Been lucky so far got good speeds e.t.c)

  8. #8
    DF Jedi tiggerbiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    100 acre woods
    Posts
    2,186
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked:        201
    Karma Level
    403

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    thats a good point piggzy,
    we simply dont use our landline for outgoing calls, we only have it for others to call us and if we need to call out we use our mobiles.

  9. #9
    DF PlaYa baggy13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    near de da land
    Posts
    649
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked:        49
    Karma Level
    264

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    I had them years ago there not bad until you leave they took 3 payments off me that they shouldn't have and it took hours of phone calls loads of emails and best part of six months to get it all back. Never again would I go back to them I'd go without first

  10. #10
    DF Jedi Lou_smorals's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    769
    Thanked:        622
    Karma Level
    434

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Hi
    I don't use telephone for any outgoing calls, I use VoIP, using vonage at the minute as with the cashback I got it was almost free, but will try others at end of the 12 months.
    LS


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  11. #11
    DF Probation H4ss4n's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,757
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked:        567
    Karma Level
    403

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    If you do decided to switch over to Plusnet, they are doing £157.50 cashback on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Homephone up to 76Mb which ends in 5 days.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    2 Thanks given to H4ss4n

    ant3b (11th November 2014), cassy34 (11th November 2014) 


  12. #12
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    371

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    I'm with VM and I've had no problem since I removed my phone and TV package over a year ago
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

  13. #13
    DF PiMP adam30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    282
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    164

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Quote Originally Posted by tiggerbiker View Post
    ive been with them for 3 months now - alright, not exactly a longstanding customer!
    almost everything has been absolutely spot on for me, the only niggle was with the crap router that they sent me.
    sorted it with a draytek unit

    the woman that came round to set up the line said that plusnet lease everything from BT and so divert most staff to customer service type roles and seemed to her at least to be one of the better providers - she was from BT openreach
    Just signed up to plusnet, which draytek unit did u buy pls as could do with one myself?

  14. #14
    DF Jedi Karoline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,556
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked:        60
    Karma Level
    430

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    I've been went them since 2005 and never had problems,even moved house in 2012 and they didn't charge for new installation.
    Customer service is good so far. Had a phone call once asking me how everything was then They asked me if they could do anything for me. In which I replied (kind of joking) "well you could lower the price" , and he actually did! They reduced my broadband price for 6 months.
    I get 8mb broadband at the moment with landline, (Fibre has just become available) and if I want fibre it will cost £29.99 a month, with evening and weekend calls, don't think this sounds too bad! And I'm sure if any new customers were to call they would probably get a better deal
    Plus net also do a referal deal where you can get money off your bill and the referers bill for each month you stay with them.

    Thanks to Karoline

    adam30 (13th March 2015) 


  15. #15
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,357
    Thanks
    1,194
    Thanked:        3,438
    Karma Level
    1592

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Quote Originally Posted by adam30 View Post
    Just signed up to plusnet, which draytek unit did u buy pls as could do with one myself?
    Depends what you want to use it for, for most resedential installs the 2760n will suffice. There are two firmwares for this, You want the DrayOS version Which is 3.x.x.x, the standard version is 1.x.x.x and it's awful. It's an adsl/VDSL router.

    If if you want a bit more all singing all dancing then either the 2860n-plus for simultaneous dual band or a second hand 2850n which has selectable dual band. Both are for SOHO-midsize business use. I have the 2850 and have used a few 2860s recently.

    Or if your area won't be getting fibre then you could get a second hand 2710 for cheap as it doesn't have a vdsl modem or Ethernet wan so they can't be used for fibre connections.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    adam30 (13th March 2015) 


  16. #16
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,357
    Thanks
    1,194
    Thanked:        3,438
    Karma Level
    1592

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Also my experience with plusnet is that their routers are poor but their tech support on the phone is probs the best I have encountered from any ISP. They know what they are talking about so you can run them through your testing to expedite the process. I haven't used them myself so can't comment on speed, traffic management or reliability.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    adam30 (13th March 2015) 


  17. #17
    DF Jedi tiggerbiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    100 acre woods
    Posts
    2,186
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked:        201
    Karma Level
    403

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    i have a 2860n-plus set up as my main router and my trusty old 2910vg set up as a repeater/network switch

    Thanks to tiggerbiker

    adam30 (13th March 2015) 


  18. #18
    DF PiMP adam30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    282
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    164

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Have now installed plusnet fibre at 38mbps with their router, downstairs it works very well but upstairs it is shite. Having looked at the draytek router, great reviews but £180 off ebay is still too expensive for me! In order to improve wifi upstairs, should i but a cheaper router for upstairs or is there a more intelligent solution?

    Thanks

  19. #19
    DF VIP Member muttleymacclad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5,760
    Thanks
    951
    Thanked:        672
    Karma Level
    683

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    Wifi homeplugs from solwise.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Quote Originally Posted by adam30 View Post
    Have now installed plusnet fibre at 38mbps with their router, downstairs it works very well but upstairs it is shite. Having looked at the draytek router, great reviews but £180 off ebay is still too expensive for me! In order to improve wifi upstairs, should i but a cheaper router for upstairs or is there a more intelligent solution?

    Thanks
    "When a naked man is chasing a woman through an alley with a butchers knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - 'Dirty' Harry
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    2 Thanks given to muttleymacclad

    adam30 (5th March 2015), Over Carl (5th March 2015) 


  20. #20
    DF PiMP adam30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    282
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked:        8
    Karma Level
    164

    Default Re: Thinking of switching to Plusnet

    thank you

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BT to buy Plusnet
    By slartibartfast in forum Web Hosting & Domain Names
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th November 2006, 12:11 PM
  2. PlusNet
    By Crilly in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29th April 2005, 03:48 PM
  3. plusnet
    By TCP in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th March 2005, 11:30 PM
  4. plusnet
    By nedtheman in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th November 2002, 02:51 PM
  5. plusnet
    By trevor a in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th October 2002, 11:20 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •