Close

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,192
    Thanks
    4,339
    Thanked:        1,779
    Karma Level
    1321

    Advice SIP - ICMP Destination Unreachable Communication Administratively Filtered

    I've got a SIP server at a location runnning 3cx.

    I wanted to swap it out with one running sipXecs so there were no limitations on lines on a free version.

    I have internal calls and I can recieve external calls.

    Problem is when I try to dial out, the server sends a SIP invite to my ITSP, but somewhere along the line it is being blocked by a router somewhere on the net which gives the ICMP response Destination Unreachable Communication Administratively Filtered

    This router doesn't appear to be anything to do with my ISP or my ITSP. However if I try and use the original server it still works fine, but the new server does this every time.

    I've ensured STUN is setup and I've tried manually specifying the WAN IP which made no difference.

    Anyone got any ideas as I've never seen that problem before.

  2. #2
    DF Jedi eblaster101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,827
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked:        121
    Karma Level
    384

    Default Re: SIP - ICMP Destination Unreachable Communication Administratively Filtered

    So does it work fine on 3CX? The problem has started since you moved to sipXecs?

    I have a company 3CX licence if you want to test your SIP on that.

    Thanks to eblaster101

    Over Carl (18th November 2014) 


  3. #3
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,192
    Thanks
    4,339
    Thanked:        1,779
    Karma Level
    1321

    Default Re: SIP - ICMP Destination Unreachable Communication Administratively Filtered

    Forgot to come back to my own thread :oops

    In the end it seemed to be a combination of issues.

    The profiles generated by SipX for the Cisco 79xx are pretty poor. Plenty of features not configured, and the XML files it generate for the 7970 is only valid for SIP firmware 9.x

    I persnally find the final 8.x (I think 8.5.4) to be the most usable so I had to edit my old config files I generated myself to use with 3cx rather than using the auto generated ones.

    Secondly, I was using accounts I've had for a long time which I thought I knew the details for. However instead of specifying sip.voipcheap.co.uk as my outbound proxy, I accidently just used voipcheap.co.uk.

    Don't ask me how on earth the trunk registered, but once I sorted the config file for phone and fixed my schoolboy error it startes to behave.

    Do you mind if I ask about your 3cx:

    How many registrations and what server hardware?
    How do you find the reliability?
    Have you figured out a way to setup a HA pair?

    I hated early releases of 3cx as I had endless problems, but the latest version seems pretty stable and reliable. For now I'm having to go open source as I need approx 10 channels but have no money, but I would love to return to 3cx when funds allow as it is quite feature rich.

  4. #4
    DF Jedi eblaster101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,827
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked:        121
    Karma Level
    384

    Default Re: SIP - ICMP Destination Unreachable Communication Administratively Filtered

    I will be honest, I am new to 3CX scene, I primarily run an IT support company for SMEs. Telecoms is becoming such an IT job now that I decided to put money into building a telecoms platform in which I bill customers directly for Lines/Broadband.

    Me and my partner went through so many free open source options for PBX and it was hit and miss. I dont think a perfect PBX solution exists. Because I am selling it to an end user I was reluctant to use a free PBX solution because of support and features. 3CX seems to deliver a workable solution in terms of mobile apps, outlook integration etc.

    I decided it would be best to use VPS cloud servers to host the 3CX system instead of keeping it in house where you have to think about HA. We currently use OVH
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] and give the end user the SLA. Worse case scenario is that the sites broadband goes down. If that happens the system will automatically divert calls to the End users mobile phones. Or they can use the 3cx mobile app to answer calls.

    Because we provide the SIP trunks we can divert the calls from the Trunk to a mobile phone if the server was to fail.

    I have it currently running on VPS Cloud 2 with 3 other web services and it works fine. Only have 3 extensions though but the memory/cpu usage is very low with 3 simultaneous calls.

    If you want a 3cx licence I am happy to give it to you at cost, as we get a discount of the sticker price on the site.

    Thanks to eblaster101

    Over Carl (18th November 2014) 


Similar Threads

  1. PM being filtered?
    By rIKmAN in forum Forum Suggestions & Feedback
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th October 2010, 08:14 PM
  2. HDR filtered in black and white
    By Eddie101 in forum Your Photos & Artwork
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th January 2008, 11:44 PM
  3. Just a couple I filtered..
    By Bilbo_baggin in forum Your Photos & Artwork
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 6th May 2007, 04:05 PM
  4. Fecking Bulldog Communication
    By Crilly in forum The Whine Cellar
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th June 2005, 04:54 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •