Close

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Help Run a Mac OS in Hyper V

    I need to run a mac up in Hyper V to do some testing of an application before I give it to the end user.

    Anyone got any pointers on doing this?

  2. #2
    DF Jedi reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    On the couch
    Posts
    2,632
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked:        470
    Karma Level
    392

    Default Re: Run a Mac OS in Hyper V

    You can get images from some of the Torrent sites that work in VMware Workstation or ESXi - I've not heard of any success stories in Hyper-V though

    Thanks to reverend

    akimba (14th January 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF Wh0re m4rkym4r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Blackpool
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked:        24
    Karma Level
    130

    Default Re: Run a Mac OS in Hyper V

    I managed to do it a microserver that was running 2008 r2 and then running virtual box to run the vm. I used one of the niresh images for it to work, was a little slow. If you have some apple hardware it is easier to do.

    Thanks to m4rkym4r

    akimba (14th January 2015) 


  4. #4
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: Run a Mac OS in Hyper V

    I seen intel Mac images on torrents so I guess these are the ones I should try, can put VM workstation on if a better option.

    Thanks ;-)

  5. #5
    DF MaSter OurPuma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oxon, UK
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        20
    Karma Level
    170

    Default Re: Run a Mac OS in Hyper V

    hi there
    the last time I checked (3+ years ago), running OSX inside Hyper-V was a big no no from Microsoft. I don't believe you can get a VM of OSX unless you are running VMWare or Parallels

    hope this helps

  6. #6
    DF PwNagE rIKmAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Stafford
    Posts
    6,503
    Thanks
    1,062
    Thanked:        645
    Karma Level
    628

    Default Re: Run a Mac OS in Hyper V

    I run a Mac using VMWare for iOS development - pretty slow but works fine.

    Thanks to rIKmAN

    akimba (15th January 2015) 


  7. #7
    DF PlaYa neilcritc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Rochdale
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked:        42
    Karma Level
    284

    Default Re: Run a Mac OS in Hyper V

    im running a mac on oracle virtualbox works ok
    Special K+ enjoyed as a healthy breakfast!

Similar Threads

  1. Hyper-R4i
    By Bensons in forum Nintendo Consoles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th June 2009, 02:55 AM
  2. No Hyper Terminal in Vista
    By wtaylor in forum The Whine Cellar
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th July 2008, 08:52 AM
  3. Hyper Video Editing
    By Wizzo in forum Funny/Strange Video Clips
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th March 2007, 07:41 PM
  4. hyper-x or twin-x?
    By noremacyug in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th April 2004, 12:19 AM
  5. Hyper Rails Crack???
    By DGStefan in forum PC Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th September 2002, 04:01 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •