Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32
  1. #1
    DF Jedi Scottio200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Tha Toon
    Posts
    1,814
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked:        96
    Karma Level
    364

    Default Microserver or Nas box?

    I'm looking to get a HP ProLiant Gen 8 Microserver, the G1610T version.

    What I'm looking to do with it are as follows :

    Install either VM Ware ESXi or Hyper-V on this and run a couple of virtual machines (3 or 4 max)

    Install a HDMI compatable PCI graphics card and use one of the virtual and a XMBC client for my TV (the box will be in my living room in my TV cabinet, next to my internet connection and router)
    Use this as a NAS box to serve as a media server, and a time machine backup for my iMac and Macbook pro
    Have a spare OS for testing different applications and servers for work (MDM servers, File Access servers, personal clouds)

    I am all ready aware I will need to install more ram into this machine, and will be looking to upgrade this to 16gb as soon as I get the thing.

    Currently all my media is on 2 2tb external drives connected to my iMac which is then shared to my apple tv. Now I don't want my iMac on all the time as it is now, as I want to bee able to shut it down when needed and have it available to use in bootcamp whenever. Currently if i do this then the media server side stops.


    Would i be better off with this sort of setup, or just get a nas box, transfer the media and get a XBMC/Kodi box to replace the apple tv?



    Many Thanks

    Scottio

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE prezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    8,149
    Thanks
    737
    Thanked:        990
    Karma Level
    1358

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Only had my HP microserver for a week or so and love it, it does well for my needs - have windows server 2012 r2 basically running as a file server / running pc backups / sabnzb / couchpotato / nzbdrone - I have stuck 16GB RAM in it which isn't cheap at £75 notes per 8GB stick

    Also added a PCI-E SATA3 card so I can use 4 drives in the HDD bays and an SSD in the ODD bay for OS - only one PCI-E slot so can't install a better RAID card like the P222 which I probs would have done if more slots available - the built in HP B120i controller is not the best

    Don't have mine running in RAID using the hp controller but AHCI and drivepool installed for duplication / backups

    It will let you use EXSi and Hyper-V but I haven't tried either

    You can also upgrade the CPU on the microserver which I may do at some point, again not cheap

    Great bit of kit for the money depending on your needs - may be better gettting a pc case with capacity for a load of drives / low powered mobo / gpu etc and using that for a homemade option?


    Have to say the microserver works great for me on my network aound 5tb of movies and tv streamed well to 5 pc's/laptops plus tablets and phone access - for £149 it is quality just needs a bit of upgrading to get it working really well
    Last edited by prezzy; 24th January 2015 at 06:45 PM.

    Thanks to prezzy

    Scottio200 (25th January 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF PwNagE prezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    8,149
    Thanks
    737
    Thanked:        990
    Karma Level
    1358

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Oh to answer your question I would go with a microserver over a dedicated pre-built nas box - loads more options

    Thanks to prezzy

    Scottio200 (25th January 2015) 


  4. #4
    DF MaSter rgb1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        36
    Karma Level
    187

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    I faced the same needs and in the end I opted for a [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] that did all that off the shelf.
    If you like tinkering then go with the HP microserver.

    Thanks to rgb1

    Scottio200 (25th January 2015) 


  5. #5
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,357
    Thanks
    1,194
    Thanked:        3,438
    Karma Level
    1592

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    I went for a ReadyNAS ultra 4 as my first device and got a Microserver after. Microserver is much better due to the options and I like to tinker, cheaper too.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    Scottio200 (25th January 2015) 


  6. #6
    DF Jedi Scottio200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Tha Toon
    Posts
    1,814
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked:        96
    Karma Level
    364

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Thanks for the replies guys, much appreciated.

    I think I'm going to go with the Microserver, but not put the graphics card in, and get a raid card for it instead. Then get an Amazon Fire TV as a XBCM/Kodi host to connect to the server.

    The only problem I will appear to have is that currently my 2 2tb hard drives are formatted for mac in MacOS Extended, getting the data from those onto a windows box could be a pain right?

    Thanks

    Scottio

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member Undertaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    2,518
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked:        189
    Karma Level
    448

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    why not seperate the the NAS aspect from your virtual?
    I would build a low powered NAS running something like unraid and get a cheap xbmc box like Zotac ID81 , think unraid will do all your backups etc via plugins




  8. #8
    DF Jedi Scottio200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Tha Toon
    Posts
    1,814
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked:        96
    Karma Level
    364

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    I am ever so slightly leaning towards a nas box now to be honest, quite like the look of the Q-Nap TS451 however its £380 without and disks and 1gb ram. The micro server will be £140 diskless and 2 gb ram

    What are peoples opinions? Nas or Microserver?

    Thanks

    Scottio

  9. #9
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    371

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Server without a shadow of a doubt. In a years time you might need it and then you'll have to fork out again.

    I run UnRAID

  10. #10
    DF VIP Member
    Mystical_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale
    Posts
    4,688
    Thanks
    1,223
    Thanked:        1,004
    Karma Level
    703

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    used to have a ReadyNAS NV+ which was my first NAS and it was a great bit of kit, i now have 3x HP microservers with each running Windows Server 2012 and each has 4x 2TB drives running in a storage pool (raid 5), these are much better than the ReadyNAS in my opinion however im still looking for something better.
    However im running out of space fast and i have been looking at some of the Synology NAS boxes, they do some 12 Bay ones that can handle 6TB drives and can be expanded with an expansion box which i think adds another 8 drives, problem is its about £1100 for the main box and £800 for the addon box, then add the 6TB drives at £200+ each and it gets expensive really quickly, im saving up!
    You know he grew up as a little shitspark from the old shitflint and then he turned into a shitbonfire and driven by the winds of his monumental ignorance he turned into a raging shitfirestorm. If I get to be married to Barb I'll have total control of Sunnyvale and then I can unleash the shitnami tidal wave that will engulf Ricky and extinguish his shitflames forever. And with any luck he'll drown in the undershit of that wave. Shitwaves.

  11. #11
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,019
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        836
    Karma Level
    336

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Quote Originally Posted by prezzy View Post
    for £149 it is quality just needs a bit of upgrading to get it working really well
    £149 for the box + Drives + cards + ram = ££££

    I have a microserver N54L setup similar to prezzy, the other thing I changed was I put a PCI Network card in as the onboard one says its a "something something gigabit" but actually will only go up to a 100mb so put in a dedicated network card to give the extra bandwidth for streaming films etc.

  12. #12
    DF MaSter OurPuma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oxon, UK
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        20
    Karma Level
    166

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Go for the microserver, Gen 8 one. It gives you more options.

  13. #13
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    371

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Or build your own like I did:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Any questions let me know. Docker was a pain in the ass to get working! DeJaVu helped me loads to get it working. I'll be updating to 6.0 when it has been released and tested by the hardcore fans

  14. #14
    DF MaSter rgb1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        36
    Karma Level
    187

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Quote Originally Posted by Scottio200 View Post
    I am ever so slightly leaning towards a nas box now to be honest, quite like the look of the Q-Nap TS451 however its £380 without and disks and 1gb ram. The micro server will be £140 diskless and 2 gb ram

    What are peoples opinions? Nas or Microserver?

    Thanks

    Scottio
    If you go that route you may as well get the [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] quad core for the extra thirty quid over the dual core TS-451
    Then at a later date upgrade the ram upto 16gb if you so wish.

  15. #15
    DF MaSter OurPuma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oxon, UK
    Posts
    87
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked:        20
    Karma Level
    166

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    HP Microserver is now even cheaper on Ebuyer - it's £139.99 after cashback...until 30th January.

  16. #16
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,192
    Thanks
    4,339
    Thanked:        1,779
    Karma Level
    1321

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    A NAS drive can always be used as a NAS but can never be used as a proper server (a few high end NAS drives have functionality getting you some of the way).

    A server can be very easily set up to be only a NAS drive, but can also be reconfigured to be a full blown server.

    If the costs are similar that makes it a no brainer to go for server to me.

    HP Microservers are very popular as they are small, cheap and don't take much power. If you can put the server in another room/garage etc, and don't mind paying more for your electric, 2nd hand servers can be found very cheap on eBay as they tend to become worthless when the warranties expire and newer kit is available.

  17. #17
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,941
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    If you are happy with an nas box I still recommend going for the hp microserver.
    i started with a wd mybook live and moved onto a dedicated freenas box (sort of micro pc) then after all the hassle moved to the hp.

    wish I had just gone straight to the hp so much better, faster and expandable.
    i have installed xpenology on mine so it has the same functionality as the synology high end boxes but with better performance and more options. not to mention it's used as a web & VPN server and mediaserver for plex.

    I didn't get on with server 2012 but I soon found xpenology so bloody easy I have never looked back.
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  18. #18
    DF PwNagE Geko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,971
    Thanks
    1,175
    Thanked:        1,281
    Karma Level
    600

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    I had a QNAP. Didn't compare to my microserver.

  19. #19
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    513

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Unraid is really good but you have to pay if you want to use over a certain number of disks.

  20. #20
    DF Jedi Scottio200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Tha Toon
    Posts
    1,814
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked:        96
    Karma Level
    364

    Default Re: Microserver or Nas box?

    Just wanted to update everyone on this,

    I went for the Microserver, got the G2020t version with 2x 1TB HDD's, 4GB Ram (1x4gb) and the ODD. Came to £350+vat - should be here tomorrow!

    Will be looking to add to the ram first I thing, but was wondering if I can add an 8gb stick to the 4 thats in, or does it need matched pairs?

    Will also be looking at getting some WD Reds for this and in the future putting a xeon cpu in it.

    Im still not sure how to tackle the hard drive situation. With my current drives formatted in Mac OS Extended, what will be the best way to get the data off these drives and onto the storage in the Gen8?

    Thanks

    Scottio

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. DIY Microserver alternative
    By {{909}} in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 13th December 2017, 07:40 AM
  2. HP Microserver
    By jaygo in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 66
    Last Post: 26th August 2014, 11:44 AM
  3. HP Microserver - red light
    By clankk in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th August 2013, 09:12 AM
  4. [HELP] Plex on HP microserver
    By Lou_smorals in forum PC Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th June 2013, 06:26 PM
  5. [HELP] HP Microserver
    By Latman in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th December 2012, 05:37 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •