Close

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    DF Jedi tronads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Blackpool
    Posts
    2,530
    Thanks
    85
    Thanked:        272
    Karma Level
    330

    Default Vu+Duo weird fault.

    Is there anyone else on here thats running a Vu+Duo on the latest openvix firmware that can adivse if they are having the same odd issue as me.

    I updated a couple of days ago to the latest version, and it was a jump of about 5 releases for me.
    Since the update, the behavouir of the remote has become odd to say the least.

    It doesnt appear to allow the same button to be pressed twice ???
    For example, I can press channel down, but if I press channel down again, it wont do it.
    Another example, I just tried to restore the firmware from usb stick, and at the end of the flash, it asks to setup the screen res, so I press ok to select 720p, then it asks to restore from backup settings, and pressing ok wont do anything (as its the second press), I have to move the selection down to no, then back up to yes, then select OK.
    And one final example, if i am in the menu a few selections deep, I would normaly press exit 3 or 4 times to get back to the normal viewing screen, but after each backup I have to move the cursor or highlighted item up or down before exit will work again.
    If I want to go straight to channel 111, it gets as far as 1, and pressing 1 no matter how many times, does nothing (other than flashing on the screen indicating its getting the signal)

    Typically, the openvix site is down so I cant get hold of the firmware version I was previously on, and even more typicaly, i cleared out my backup folder after the update as well, before i realised it was behaving oddly.

    Anyone got any ideas ?

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE prezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    8,149
    Thanks
    737
    Thanked:        990
    Karma Level
    1362

    Default Re: Vu+Duo weird fault.

    Wipe it and do a fresh install?

    Not had a VU box for a while but any gremlins I used to just do wipe it and start again doesn't take long and normally sorted it.

    Oh seen you may not have the files to just wipe and redo - rookie mistake! save everything!


  3. #3
    DF Jedi tronads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Blackpool
    Posts
    2,530
    Thanks
    85
    Thanked:        272
    Karma Level
    330

    Default Re: Vu+Duo weird fault.

    I managed to find v131 from mid January, restored that and it was exactly the same.
    However....I have now got to the bottom of it.
    The remote control unit itself has gone faulty !
    I discovered that the fault was not occurring when using my Logitech Harmony One, and I had spare unused proper Vu one, so I dug that out, tried that, and that too is fine.

    Its a really bizarre fault, as its flashing away on the box when the buttons are being pressed, so its receiving "something", and I discovered that multiple presses of some buttons eg volume, are working fine. Very unusual indeed, but I am somewhat relieved its not the box :-)

    Thanks to tronads

    prezzy (20th February 2015) 


  4. #4
    DF Wh0re Clareman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked:        6
    Karma Level
    210

    Default Re: Vu+Duo weird fault.

    Check in the plug in section there's an option to choose the version of remote you have, it might be that you just have a different version set, some of the newer ones allow for TV control as well as box control as well as advanced box control (some even have a full keyboard).

  5. #5
    DF Jedi tronads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Blackpool
    Posts
    2,530
    Thanks
    85
    Thanked:        272
    Karma Level
    330

    Default Re: Vu+Duo weird fault.

    The issue is now resolved thanks, and its been working for 3 years without issue, so no setting issue.
    The problem appears to be...and im rather embarrassed about this, but honest enough to come clean......low battery related.....

    2 Thanks given to tronads

    Clareman (21st February 2015), Rhinoz (21st February 2015) 


Similar Threads

  1. Weird Fault on 360
    By fanni in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 1st January 2009, 04:16 PM
  2. Weird Nokia 6610i Fault
    By fordka in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd April 2006, 04:34 PM
  3. Weird ass cartoon, long but very weird
    By QUALCAST in forum Funny/Strange Video Clips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th November 2005, 11:13 PM
  4. fault on x-box
    By okey in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th October 2004, 10:55 AM
  5. ECM or Box fault?
    By thesicilian in forum Digital & Cable TV
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 18th December 2003, 02:00 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •