Close

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    DF Wh0re keith lard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chorley
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked:        42
    Karma Level
    194

    Advice Replacing Power supply unit

    Hi,
    Could some kind person point me in the right direction of buying a new PSU for my GA-P55M-UD2 motherboard

    I dont know which one to buy, been looking on Amazon ....just dont know which one is compatible!


    How do you check if It will run your PC?


    The one I did have in it is a Epsilon 80plus 600

    but none are on amazon...


    any help most welcome!


    k.

  2. #2
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    It has a 24-pin ATX main power connector so........

    So you have a range of supplies available.

    What processor and additional items like graphics cards, drives etc are you running because this will make a difference on what supply to purchase power wise.
    Life’s To Short To Argue - I say As I Get Up Off The Floor After The Misses Wacks Me With A frying Pan.

  3. #3
    DF Wh0re keith lard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chorley
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked:        42
    Karma Level
    194

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    It has a 1GB graphics card, not sure on the processor, but it is a high spec one.

    The one thing it does have is 2 x4pin connectors, that plugs into the motherboard...

    some I have looked at only have 1x 4 pin connector

  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,428
    Thanks
    1,208
    Thanked:        3,475
    Karma Level
    1601

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    I'm a firm believer of buying a quality brand when it comes to PSU. Scan have refurbished Corsair models which are very cheap, I really like corsair, have always had quality from the, but I haven't tried a refurb before. This model has the same total power rating as yours and has all of the connections that yours has:
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]


  5. #5
    DF PwNagE Mobileman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    No.1 The Toon
    Posts
    6,440
    Thanks
    1,625
    Thanked:        1,050
    Karma Level
    725

    Default Replacing Power supply unit

    Jumping in on thread a bit , but any thoughts on modular psu's also I quite fancy trying to tidy my main rig up
    Last edited by Mobileman; 24th February 2015 at 11:00 PM.

  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,241
    Thanks
    4,389
    Thanked:        1,809
    Karma Level
    1329

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    Makes sense paying the little premium for modular if you value a tidy case (also can help with airflow).

    Also if you think you may have slightly unusual power requirements in the future - e.g. filling the computer with hard drives or putting a pair of serious GFX cards in there, at least you will have flexibility with the connectors.

  7. #7
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    518

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    Agree with evilsatan, cheaper brands might be able to put out that power but maintaining a steady voltage (important for gfx etc) takes a decent control unit which costs.

  8. #8
    DF Jedi plug1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    glesga
    Posts
    1,965
    Thanks
    383
    Thanked:        245
    Karma Level
    367

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    Well bs that's not true mate . It's to do with current not voltage . The voltage can't change 12 /5v lines ect
    or the mobo would cry .
    Loads in a circuit draw currant (amps), as it needs them. There for the psu needs to have these extra amps ,ready to givethe load some when it draws them .

    you can't go far wrong with a 30 quid storm 800w psu .
    Last edited by plug1; 25th February 2015 at 01:24 AM. Reason: Formatting

  9. #9
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,428
    Thanks
    1,208
    Thanked:        3,475
    Karma Level
    1601

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    I like modular, I think I have a hybrid modular in mine.


  10. #10
    DF VIP Member
    Realist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    5,481
    Thanks
    234
    Thanked:        789
    Karma Level
    726

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    I would defo purchase a modular supply gives you more spec and ready for future upgrades.

    Regarding type, current etc add up all the devices current and if for example say it comes to 375 watts then purchase a 500/600 watt supply or like I always do get the biggest bugger you can get for your money and that's what it comes down to and that's what your prepared to spend.

    Regards
    Life’s To Short To Argue - I say As I Get Up Off The Floor After The Misses Wacks Me With A frying Pan.

  11. #11
    DF PlaYa pattikins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    manchester
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    251
    Thanked:        82
    Karma Level
    318

    Default Re: Replacing Power supply unit

    If you use Belarc Adviser it will help you find all the components that you've got installed in your PC. This [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] should help you decide the wattage.

    Your Epsilon 80plus 600 has received favourable reviews, so it looks like you were along the right line in terms of quality, [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]...I'm guessing you're not a gamer, so I think you will be safe with a 450w psu...
    Last edited by pattikins; 25th February 2015 at 12:35 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. [WANTED] Hewlett Packard OfficeJet 7000 Power Supply Unit
    By DejaVu in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th July 2011, 06:41 PM
  2. Xbox 360 power supply unit/brick
    By Wario in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th December 2007, 06:01 PM
  3. WTD: Quiet AT Power Supply With Power Switch
    By hxbro in forum Buy, Sell and Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd November 2005, 01:06 AM
  4. HP Power Supply
    By chauhan in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd December 2004, 11:56 PM
  5. xbox power supply unit
    By debug77 in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th November 2004, 06:07 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •