Close

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Anyone into watches?

Afternoon all,

Looking to purchase a watch for my father who turns 60 later this year.

He's not generally an advocate of watches, but does have one he wears daily, a standard Casio type thing with a glow in the dark clock face. It's used as an everyday wearer watch, so I'm looking to get him a "dress" watch for special occasions and possible engraving on the rear of it.

I want it to be wearable, and I know he's a fan of metal wrist straps over brown/black leather.

Budget is circa £300-£500, and I'd like it to be digital.

I know absolutely nothing about watches, so if anyone could drop me some names or models so I can do some research, that'd be fantastic.

TIA
    "That's why I fucked your bitch you fat mother fucker"

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Anyone into watches?

I not a big watch fan but my missus bought me a rotary self charging watch for chrim, now as I work in a factory environment I don't wear it to work but cos its self charging by time I wear it at weekend its lost it charge and the time is always wrong grrrrr

So if you are going to get a self charging/kenetic it need to be one he wears daily else will spend half the time setting the time :-(

Thanks to akimba

BigBrand (10th March 2015)  

Thanks
    Karma Level

Quote Originally Posted by akimba View Post
    I not a big watch fan but my missus bought me a rotary self charging watch for chrim, now as I work in a factory environment I don't wear it to work but cos its self charging by time I wear it at weekend its lost it charge and the time is always wrong grrrrr

So if you are going to get a self charging/kenetic it need to be one he wears daily else will spend half the time setting the time :-(
    My Accurist watch of 15 years has just died - other than the kinetic "issues" what do you think of the watch. Having been eyeing up a kinetic Rotary myself so would appreciate your opinion?

Thanks
    Karma Level