Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cat6 or Cat6a?

  1. #1
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,912
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    372

    Default Cat6 or Cat6a? What PoE switch?

    Hi Guys,

    I'm looking to upgrade the rest of my home network and my Mum's house. I have most of my network on ca6 but while searching for cat6 reels I came across cat6a and I couldn't see much of a difference?

    Is this it?
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    The cables will be run within the walls and will be pulled out and taken with me when I move
    Last edited by Rick Sanchez; 28th March 2015 at 02:19 PM.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

  2. #2
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,512
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,697
    Karma Level
    987

    Default Re: Cat6 or Cat6a?

    I doubt your mum would be pushing the limits of 5e. It's good enough for most home installations.

  3. #3
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,374
    Thanks
    1,196
    Thanked:        3,446
    Karma Level
    1594

    Default Re: Cat6 or Cat6a?

    I can't see her using 10G-baseT so go for the higher quality cat5e or cat6 if pricing is similar.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]


  4. #4
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,912
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    372

    Default Re: Cat6 or Cat6a?

    What about Cat6e? It'll be used at my place as well
    Last edited by Rick Sanchez; 15th March 2015 at 05:14 PM.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

  5. #5
    DF PwNagE dpSparhawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    7,040
    Thanks
    1,833
    Thanked:        2,618
    Karma Level
    820

    Default Re: Cat6 or Cat6a?

    I bought some of this a few months back.

    Works well enough.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  6. #6
    DF VIP Member Rick Sanchez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Shoney's
    Posts
    3,912
    Thanks
    1,343
    Thanked:        394
    Karma Level
    372

    Default Re: Cat6 or Cat6a?

    I opted for cat6e 305m reel which has arrived Now I want to add/change my eight port switch to an eight port PoE if reasonably priced I'd like to power so speakers and a TV running Plex if possible
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    DF Members Receive 25% Off Our Web Hosting Plans. - PM For More Info. - Authorised By Admin.

Similar Threads

  1. cat5e/cat6
    By tric in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th March 2007, 10:38 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •