Close

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,940
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Advice Pi2 media centre help?

    Got my pi2 and pi b+

    I have got raspbmc or kodi as its called now on the b+ and quite like it, so looking to use it on the pi2 instead.
    Problem is it won't boot on pi2 so I downloaded noobs 1.4 and installed open elec pi2

    openelec just sits at the front screen and refuses to load??
    My question is....does anyone have a card image of a working raspbmc or openelec for the pi2?

    cant wait until the windows 10 download is available for pi2 .
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  2. #2
    DF Jedi stimpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The TV.
    Posts
    2,046
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked:        248
    Karma Level
    375

    Default Re: Pi2 media centre help?

    Have a look at OSMC, it's the successor to RaspBMC on the Pi and Pi2.

    They have just released RC, I have been running alpha 4 on the Pi 2 and it's brilliant.

    Thanks to stimpy

    MrTeajunkie (15th March 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF Super Moderator MrTeajunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    4,940
    Thanks
    2,203
    Thanked:        2,370
    Karma Level
    609

    Default Re: Pi2 media centre help?

    Thanks fella I been looking at that and it doesn't seem to run on my pi2 and I'm now starting to think my pi may be faulty

    i have managed to run raspbian ok but anything else just says feck off.
    I have seen a post on another forum through my searching of Google that it may be a power supply issue but this one is a 3a unit so I can't see it being that it's not man enough for the job.
    will change power supply and report back as osmc did look pretty good
    Instagram and twitter @mrteajunkie.
    I make mugs, keyrings, coasters, T-shirt’s and decals.

  4. #4
    DF PlaYa Squizza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    575
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked:        210
    Karma Level
    115

    Default Re: Pi2 media centre help?

    Hey,

    Dabbling with a few Pi's at the moment (got my finger in..)

    I am running Subsonic on a Pi2 - reason is Subsonic is Java based and uses a funk load of memory so in order to run nicely it has to be the Pi2
    I then have motion running on a B+ monitoring the house and then have some other projects. They all run off USB ports hanging around on the TV or Sky HD box etc.. I have mains PSU's but not found the need yet.

    Getting to the point, I found that it is essential to do sudo apt-get upgrade then sudo apt-get install and it is even worth making sure that the firmware is correct, especially for the Pi2 - sudo apt-get install rpi-update then sudo rpi-update

    At the end run sudo apt-get clean to remove any rubbish left behind.

    Hopefully, if you have not already done this, it should give your Pi everything it needs to run the latest stuff and your all set.
    Doing the above will take 10-15 mins, very little effort to ensure that you are upto date.

    Thanks to Squizza

    MrTeajunkie (16th March 2015) 


  5. #5
    DF Jedi stimpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The TV.
    Posts
    2,046
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked:        248
    Karma Level
    375

    Default Re: Pi2 media centre help?

    Quote Originally Posted by Teajunkie View Post
    Thanks fella I been looking at that and it doesn't seem to run on my pi2 and I'm now starting to think my pi may be faulty
    Just make sure you select Raspberry Pi 2 on the installer as it defaults to Raspberry Pi which won't work. Once you do that, it should boot.

    Also, your 3A unit should do the job, the recommended is 2A. If the unit is underpowered you get a little rainbow symbol on the top right hand corner.

    Thanks to stimpy

    MrTeajunkie (16th March 2015) 


Similar Threads

  1. 3D Media Centre !!
    By Rick Sanchez in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10th August 2011, 02:17 PM
  2. What media centre to get?
    By dannoble82 in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 1st August 2010, 11:42 PM
  3. Media Centre
    By dannoble82 in forum Home Audio/Video, Electronic Toys & Gadgets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd November 2008, 08:54 PM
  4. Looking for a media centre
    By BertRoot in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16th March 2006, 10:43 AM
  5. XP Media Centre
    By ilikepie in forum Microsoft Windows XP & Vista
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th September 2005, 02:44 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •