Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wifi Problem

  1. #1
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    298

    Advice Wifi Problem

    I've had Virgin internet for years and never really had a problem. Then a few weeks ago the wifi started to cut out, the wired connections stayed fine. I checked the channels and saw that both mine and next doors routers were both on channel 6 so I tried mine at both ends of the scale 1 & 11 but the problem remained.

    I contacted Virgin and they arranged for an engineer to swap out my router which turned out to be faulty (shit happens) so I kicked off and they sent another engineer with one of the new AC routers. So what is happening now, is wired is fine, 5G is fine but the 2G starts off OK then intermittently the speed starts to degrade till it gets to 0. I've tried stepping through various channels but the problem remains.

    It doesn't really affect me as 95% of the time I'm on a wired connection but my daughter is driving me nuts as her laptop only has a 2G connection.

    I'm stuck now and don't know what else to try.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,361
    Thanks
    1,194
    Thanked:        3,440
    Karma Level
    1592

    Default Re: Wifi Problem

    Do you have many wireless devices in your house such as wireless telephones? The idea of the 5Ghz channels is because the 2.4Ghz range is so congested nowadays. Sounds like ther may be such disruption in your area.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    Hangman (18th April 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi doughboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Beckenham
    Posts
    2,146
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked:        90
    Karma Level
    370

    Default Re: Wifi Problem

    Try inssider for any interference issues

    Thanks to doughboy

    Hangman (18th April 2015) 


  4. #4
    DF Member Smart86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked:        7
    Karma Level
    70

    Default Re: Wifi Problem

    Maybe a simple firmware update on the Router will fix the problem

  5. #5
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    298

    Default Re: Wifi Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Do you have many wireless devices in your house such as wireless telephones? The idea of the 5Ghz channels is because the 2.4Ghz range is so congested nowadays. Sounds like ther may be such disruption in your area.
    I do have wireless phone but have had the same ones for years, not added anything new that would coincide with the problems starting. (I will however see if when the problems re-occurs if it fixes itself if I unplug the phones.

    Only other thing that was added was a Sonos speaker but that connects to the wifi rather than transmits??
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  6. #6
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    298

    Default Re: Wifi Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
    Try inssider for any interference issues
    I'll give this a try.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  7. #7
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    298

    Default Re: Wifi Problem

    Can't do a manual update as it is a virgin router.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  8. #8
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,361
    Thanks
    1,194
    Thanked:        3,440
    Karma Level
    1592

    Default Re: Wifi Problem

    Sonos should be fine, they create a mesh network but I haven't seen it affect a router before.

    Are there driver updates for the wireless card? Does it work ok elsewhere?

    Only other thing is to replace the WLAN card, although it shouldn't cost much you shouldn't really have to go to that length if it works ok everywhere else. Do you have any spare routers around that could be configured as a WAP to test if the connection is more stable?


Similar Threads

  1. WiFi Repeater problem
    By number7 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st October 2015, 06:32 PM
  2. WiFi problem..
    By Goldberg in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th March 2010, 06:52 PM
  3. [HELP] Wifi problem
    By gazza341 in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd March 2009, 12:03 PM
  4. n95 wifi problem
    By adriand in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd August 2007, 03:29 PM
  5. WiFi Problem
    By brumbino in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th June 2004, 01:04 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •