Close

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    DF Jedi flik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ToyTown
    Posts
    2,055
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked:        142
    Karma Level
    345

    Advice Problems with Astraweb.

    Hi Guys I have been using Astraweb for years on end and have found it to be pretty awesome.
    However just recently it looks like a lot of stuff especially TV shows is being taken down very early.
    Has anyone else experienced the same thing?
    I'm looking at jumping ship if this is the case. Can anyone recommend an alternative that doesn't suffer this Takedown bollocks?

    Ta v much.

  2. #2
    DF Probation H4ss4n's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,757
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked:        567
    Karma Level
    403

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    I was with Astraweb for a good 4 years but then switched over to Usenetserver as Astraweb were taking down things too quick with the DMCA notices.
    Don't get me wrong Usenetserver also remove stuff but not as quick as Astraweb.

    Thanks to H4ss4n

    flik (14th May 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi supraman54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NW Kent
    Posts
    1,278
    Thanks
    440
    Thanked:        350
    Karma Level
    322

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    I still have astraweb but aslo use Xlned so hopefully one hasn't had a takedown

    supe
    https://www.speedtest.net/result/2920820230.png

    Thanks to supraman54

    flik (14th May 2015) 


  4. #4
    DF Jedi flik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ToyTown
    Posts
    2,055
    Thanks
    236
    Thanked:        142
    Karma Level
    345

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    I'm looking at Xlned and it looks pretty good. Anyone else use it and can provide any feedback?

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member
    Mystical_2K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sunnyvale
    Posts
    4,688
    Thanks
    1,223
    Thanked:        1,004
    Karma Level
    703

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    I used astraweb for a few years but ran into this problem, with newsdemon now and havent had many problems, you will find alot of TV stuff disappears from all servers eventually as they are asked to remove them so theirs no 100% service that i am aware of
    setup Sickbeard or similar to ensure you catch them before they are taken down
    You know he grew up as a little shitspark from the old shitflint and then he turned into a shitbonfire and driven by the winds of his monumental ignorance he turned into a raging shitfirestorm. If I get to be married to Barb I'll have total control of Sunnyvale and then I can unleash the shitnami tidal wave that will engulf Ricky and extinguish his shitflames forever. And with any luck he'll drown in the undershit of that wave. Shitwaves.

    Thanks to Mystical_2K

    flik (14th May 2015) 


  6. #6
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,357
    Thanks
    1,194
    Thanked:        3,438
    Karma Level
    1592

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    Moved from Astraweb to Tweaknews years ago and been happy since

    2 Thanks given to evilsatan

    flik (17th May 2015), Northernbloke (14th May 2015) 


  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator
    DejaVu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    9,132
    Thanks
    1,860
    Thanked:        4,065
    Karma Level
    990

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    Everywhere suffers the takedown bollox. It just depends on the companies response time to the complaint. I'm using Newshosting again after a short trial of Tweaknews, I found it far more reliable and faster.

    Tap me up for a discounted partner account that goes to helping other DF members.

    Thanks to DejaVu

    flik (17th May 2015) 


  8. #8
    DF Jedi Northernbloke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Geordieland
    Posts
    3,040
    Thanks
    860
    Thanked:        325
    Karma Level
    451

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    Quote Originally Posted by evilsatan View Post
    Moved from Astraweb to Tweaknews years ago and been happy since
    Same here - tweak news has a manual takedown system so they state something like it can take 7 days to comply with the requests most of the other providers run automatic systems and take stuff down as soon as it's reported

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

    Thanks to Northernbloke

    flik (17th May 2015) 


  9. #9
    DF PwNagE beerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    29 Acacia Road
    Posts
    8,512
    Thanks
    1,098
    Thanked:        1,697
    Karma Level
    986

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    I have astraweb with a tweaknews block account, no issues here.

    Thanks to beerman

    flik (17th May 2015) 


  10. #10
    DF Jedi Argyll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    2,909
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked:        30
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    I had Astra a few years ago and left for the same problems you're having. I joined Newsdemon and have had no problems so far. It would appear to me the take downs are sporadic and calm down after a while.
    I understand and accept that some people hold opinions that are different to my own. Living in a free and democratic society, I fully embrace and respect their right to be wrong.

    Thanks to Argyll

    flik (17th May 2015) 


  11. #11
    DF PlaYa Hippie on hill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    769
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked:        166
    Karma Level
    269

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    Have you setup both server addys?
    I often read comments saying that files have gone from the Astra servers but they dl OK for me with both servers in the settings.

    Thanks to Hippie on hill

    flik (17th May 2015) 


  12. #12
    DF PwNagE prezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    8,149
    Thanks
    737
    Thanked:        990
    Karma Level
    1358

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    Still with newshosting here rarely have any problems - then again my server grabs stuff as soon as it is available for download

    Thanks to prezzy

    flik (17th May 2015) 


  13. #13
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    513

    Default Re: Problems with Astraweb.

    I started seeing issues a few years back and swapped. Using supernews now I think.

    Thanks to blacksheep

    flik (17th May 2015) 


Similar Threads

  1. Anyone having problems with Astraweb
    By cassy34 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th June 2011, 08:48 PM
  2. Astraweb SSL
    By Brydo666 in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11th October 2010, 10:42 PM
  3. Astraweb problems anyone?
    By lloydi in forum The Dog and Duck
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 21st February 2010, 02:12 PM
  4. Astraweb SSL
    By Q-Ball in forum PC Software
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th July 2009, 12:49 PM
  5. Astraweb/NTL problems seem to be solved
    By sanjuro in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th December 2003, 11:19 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •