Close

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Help NAS drive at work - is it possible

Over the next few years I'll need to store about 2-3 Terrabytes of videos on our work departments server. It was suggested to me I'd be best purchasing a NAS server to store the videos so it doesn't fill up our server. I mistakenly thought I could use it as a portable hard drive but evidently not.

I called my IT department and requested they install it but they said it's not possible to install as it wouldn't be possible to connect me to the works network and the NAS server.

I have no particular knowledge of IT but I can smell horse shit and I think they're just trying to fob me off. To give you an idea it took them 18 months for them to install a PC for me that wasn't connected to the network as I needed it to connect to some GPRS equipment I have out in the field. They continually told me it wasn't possible but when I realised they were just too lazy to install it they soon got of their arses.

So is it possible to connect a PC to a works server and a a personal NAS drive?
    I understand and accept that some people hold opinions that are different to my own. Living in a free and democratic society, I fully embrace and respect their right to be wrong.

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: NAS drive at work - is it possible

Yes

Thanks to cyprus

Argyll (20th May 2015)  

DF Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Karma Level

The NAS would be connected to the existing network and would be mapped as a network drive to your PC. It would have user accounts with password protection to prevent others on the network from accessing it. That's the simple setup that any normal network would allow, VLANs could be used to isolate it from other users but by the sounds of it they wouldn't know what a VLAN was, password protection would suffice.

Thanks to evilsatan

Argyll (20th May 2015)  

DF VIP Member
    Thanks
    Karma Level