Close

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    DF Jedi dainese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stretford End
    Posts
    1,154
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked:        101
    Karma Level
    278

    Help Tethering on Three

    Hi, I hope someone can answer my query. I have an iPhone 5 and wish to tether on three network without them knowing I am doing this. My contract with them has a 2gb tether limit but unlimited data. My phone is on ios 7.1.2 and I haven't jailbroken a phone for a few years since it became harder to get apps the unconventional way . Does anyone have a set-up on Three network doing this?

  2. #2
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    302

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    Be interested to see if this is possible, not for the UK as my 3 contract has unlimited tethering but for when I go on holiday, as they don't allow tethering while roaming.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  3. #3
    DF Jedi Northernbloke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Geordieland
    Posts
    3,040
    Thanks
    860
    Thanked:        325
    Karma Level
    455

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    They can certainly detect tethering when roaming - I tried it in Denmark which is one of their at home countries so you use your contracted minutes and data wile there and got a message instantly I tried to set up the WiFi hotshot telling me it wasn't allowed

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    517

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    Quote Originally Posted by Northernbloke View Post
    They can certainly detect tethering when roaming - I tried it in Denmark which is one of their at home countries so you use your contracted minutes and data wile there and got a message instantly I tried to set up the WiFi hotshot telling me it wasn't allowed

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
    that could easily be done in software more so than allowances (although still easily doable I'd think)

  5. #5
    DF Jedi bub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Elstree
    Posts
    1,617
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked:        45
    Karma Level
    346

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    Foxfi on Android might be worth a shot, it's supposed to hide tethering

  6. #6
    DF Jedi Zoots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hoth
    Posts
    3,329
    Thanks
    1,648
    Thanked:        1,322
    Karma Level
    398

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    To test, I almost gave in and installed FoxFi (essentially PDANet) but then remembered what an absolute steaming pile of dog shit it is. Reading the reviews on Play Store it doesn't appear to have gotten any better since I tried it a couple of years ago. I'm not even sure it's still being supported/developed.

    Check the devices page anyway for it's limitations.
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]
    Note: not available for iOS

    The only time I've ever had any success tethering substantially with Three has been to put a prepaid Three sim into a MiFi. All other times on my contract sim they've caught me out.
    Last edited by Zoots; 27th May 2015 at 11:25 AM.

  7. #7
    DF Jedi Hangman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,463
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked:        158
    Karma Level
    302

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    So no tethering for me then when I go on holiday.

    I might get a Microsoft wireless display adapter so I can miracast Netflix from my phone to the TV
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Its better to burn out than to fade away...............

  8. #8
    DF Jedi dainese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stretford End
    Posts
    1,154
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked:        101
    Karma Level
    278

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    Still haven't found anything to say this is possible. PDANet seems to come up as a solution but as you say Zoots you haven't had very good experience with it. I get unlimited data with three and 4GB tethering allowance. You can't buy anymore tethering data as an add-on and I have read someone saying they blow this allowance easily all the time and haven't been pulled up on it. They believe it's more a deterant than anything as previously there wasn't a cap on it. I'll have to give it a try and see what happens!

  9. #9
    DF Jedi Zippeyrude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,334
    Thanks
    243
    Thanked:        803
    Karma Level
    527

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    i bought a mifi from 3 on a monthly rolling contract

    40 quid for the mifi and 16.02 for 10gig of data a month. i figured it was worth it given the cost of roaming and the freedom it would give me

  10. #10
    DF Jedi Zoots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hoth
    Posts
    3,329
    Thanks
    1,648
    Thanked:        1,322
    Karma Level
    398

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    Quote Originally Posted by dainese View Post
    Still haven't found anything to say this is possible. PDANet seems to come up as a solution but as you say Zoots you haven't had very good experience with it.
    Not only that mate, it's Android only now.

  11. #11
    DF Jedi Brydo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    3,445
    Thanks
    213
    Thanked:        193
    Karma Level
    494

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    Just pay them the other £2 a month and tether away until your hearts content.

    Assuming your on a pay monthly contract with 2GB allowance, and currently pay £3/month for unlimited web? Unlimited web with tethering is £5/month.

  12. #12
    DF Rookie lfc19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    KOP
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    58
    Thanked:        3
    Karma Level
    162

    Default Re: Tethering on Three

    I used to use "TetherMe" which can be found in cydia.

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] Android tethering again.
    By TriBot in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th May 2012, 01:48 PM
  2. [HELP] ICS Rom not wireless tethering.
    By TriBot in forum Android Phones & Tablets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd March 2012, 09:32 AM
  3. Tethering
    By Fear345 in forum Apple Mobile Devices
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 6th November 2009, 07:25 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •