Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: LG NAS Issue

  1. #1
    DF Wh0re hitmandk1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        2
    Karma Level
    229

    Help LG NAS Issue

    Hey guys,

    Not sure if this is the right place to post this so apologies in advanced.

    I have a LG NAS N1T1, and its been good as gold.

    However, yesterday its decided to stop working, and the HDD light is just blinking on it.

    If I try and dial into it, I can get to the log in screen but if I try and get in, it says something about not being able to get in because of a Daemon error.

    I have taken the HDD out and tried to plug it into an external caddy, and then into a PC and Mac...but its got protected partitions.

    Does anyone have any ideas how I could try and get any of the content of it please?

    LG's support is pretty much useless...and now I'm in a real pickle

    Any help or ideas would be AMAZING.

    Thanks peeps

    Hitman

  2. #2
    DF Super Moderator
    evilsatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    20,357
    Thanks
    1,194
    Thanked:        3,438
    Karma Level
    1592

    Default Re: LG NAS Issue

    Have you tried different web browsers and clearing the browser cache? Are the HDDs making any clicking/grinding noises? The drives should be in software/fake RAID so you shouldn't be able to remove the drive and read the data.

    Thanks to evilsatan

    hitmandk1985 (27th May 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF Wh0re hitmandk1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        2
    Karma Level
    229

    Default Re: LG NAS Issue

    Hey Evil,

    Thanks for getting back to me!

    To answer, I have tried different browsers, I have also cleared cache. The HDD spins up fine with no clicking.

    I believe the OS is built into the HDD, and thats where the problem is.

    If I take the HDD out and then put it into a caddy, Windows does see it, but its in a protected format.

    I'm just concerned that if I try and re-flash the HDD it could wipe the drive.

  4. #4
    DF VIP Member MartinC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        40
    Karma Level
    73

    Default Re: LG NAS Issue

    Have you tried powering the NAS device off and then powering it up again? sounds like something is not loading correctly, like a service or application to let you log in through the management interface.

    I would not recommend re-flashing the drives and to be fair I am not that familiar with home NAS, I use mostly SAN's.

  5. #5
    DF VIP Member MartinC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        40
    Karma Level
    73

    Default Re: LG NAS Issue

    Also another possibility, try compatibility mode in IE and does the management interface use Java, has your java been updated etc...

    If your using Java with certain sites, you might need to go in the control panel and add its IP address to a allow list in Java for it to work, total guess but worth a look, Java is a right pain sometimes.

    Thanks to MartinC

    hitmandk1985 (27th May 2015) 


  6. #6
    DF Wh0re hitmandk1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked:        2
    Karma Level
    229

    Default Re: LG NAS Issue

    Hey MartinC,

    Yes, I have multiple times. I'm pretty sure its the OS side of the HDD that has corrupted its self. That's exactly what has failed the management interface, it displays but the moment you enter some credentials to log it, it displayed a Daemon error.

    I don't want to reflash it, as I'm 99% sure it will format it and all my data will be lost

  7. #7
    DF VIP Member MartinC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked:        40
    Karma Level
    73

    Default Re: LG NAS Issue

    Looking on forums it seems you can access some LG NAS via SSH, telnet and SFTP, I don't know if it works or setup on your particular NAS or that you know how to do it, but I would look into that if you need your data and LG are no help.

    Unfortunately I have never used a LG NAS so I can not help you with specifics, but hopefully point you in a reasonable direction.

    Thanks to MartinC

    hitmandk1985 (27th May 2015) 


  8. #8
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    513

    Default Re: LG NAS Issue

    Daemon error sounds software to me, but the error could be because it can't read the drive or something (sorry not much help). Post up the error and it might give more of a clue or does LG have a forum for its nas's? Might be something on there or their website.

Similar Threads

  1. [HELP] NIC issue
    By MartinC in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 5th May 2015, 04:23 PM
  2. 2 Sky box Issue
    By akimba in forum Digital Satellite TV
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th March 2013, 10:43 AM
  3. USB HD issue
    By ZEbbEDY in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd June 2009, 08:10 PM
  4. vip issue
    By bbshark in forum Forum Bug & Error Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th December 2006, 09:07 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •