Close

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    DF Rookie nedflanders's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    antarctica
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked:        0
    Karma Level
    0

    Default Brighthouse cable disables wifi if you don't pay

    Anyone find a way around this? I have the Arris DG1670A cable modem. If you turn it on without connecting to coax wifi works fine (no internet connection obviously, but it still turns on). Soon as you plug in the coax it must download a profile of some kind and the wifi gets disabled. You can still get to the config page and check the box to re-enable wifi, but the change doesn't save. How are they doing this and how can I block their penny pinching asses?

  2. #2
    DF PlaYa dibbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    597
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked:        73
    Karma Level
    277

    Default Re: Brighthouse cable disables wifi if you don't pay

    Oh dear!!

    4 Thanks given to dibbler

    Ashley (27th May 2015), Bilbo_baggin (27th May 2015), dpSparhawk (27th May 2015), littlebilly1 (27th May 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF Super Moderator Over Carl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    13,191
    Thanks
    4,338
    Thanked:        1,779
    Karma Level
    1320

    Default Re: Brighthouse cable disables wifi if you don't pay

    I have a very similar issue with a Superhub ( a very common cable modem here in the UK as provided by Virgin Media).

    I have found from time to time, we appear to loose our internet connection. I have performed extensive diagnosis of the issue and eventually came to a conclusion.

    If I want internet that works I need to pay the bill.

    9 Thanks given to Over Carl

    AD (29th May 2015), Ashley (27th May 2015), dibbler (27th May 2015), dpSparhawk (27th May 2015), Ginnerfreak (28th May 2015), littlebilly1 (27th May 2015), Mickey (27th May 2015), psxcity (27th May 2015), supraman54 (28th May 2015) 


  4. #4
    DF PwNagE dpSparhawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    7,031
    Thanks
    1,823
    Thanked:        2,606
    Karma Level
    818

    Default Re: Brighthouse cable disables wifi if you don't pay

    Ned, I suggest you take your modem, find the nearest seal and ask it to club you repeatedly with it. Just sayin'

    2 Thanks given to dpSparhawk

    Bilbo_baggin (27th May 2015), WRATH OF BOD (28th May 2015) 


  5. #5
    DF PwNagE Bilbo_baggin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    8,830
    Thanks
    2,440
    Thanked:        2,720
    Karma Level
    1019

    Default Re: Brighthouse cable disables wifi if you don't pay

    Doh!


    Ned, check >> [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] <<

  6. #6
    DF General DogsBody
    Mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Digital Forums
    Posts
    17,775
    Thanks
    2,441
    Thanked:        2,673
    Karma Level
    1352

    Default Re: Brighthouse cable disables wifi if you don't pay

    Quote Originally Posted by nedflanders View Post
    Anyone find a way around this? I have the Arris DG1670A cable modem. If you turn it on without connecting to coax wifi works fine (no internet connection obviously, but it still turns on). Soon as you plug in the coax it must download a profile of some kind and the wifi gets disabled. You can still get to the config page and check the box to re-enable wifi, but the change doesn't save. How are they doing this and how can I block their penny pinching asses?
    Hi matey and welcome to digital Forums.
    Please see below a link to fix your issue

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    Have a nice day

    EDIT: I remember he cant
    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  7. #7
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,979
    Thanks
    3,522
    Thanked:        1,734
    Karma Level
    355

    Default Re: Brighthouse cable disables wifi if you don't pay

    Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post

    EDIT: I remember he cant

    He cant or he cunt ?

    Thanks to piggzy

    Over Carl (28th May 2015) 


  8. #8
    DF Jedi blacksheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,877
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked:        265
    Karma Level
    513

    Default Re: Brighthouse cable disables wifi if you don't pay

    Why would you plug the coax in if you don't have any benefit (I.e. Internet) from it?

Similar Threads

  1. [REQUEST] Cable wifi router
    By TAR in forum Internet Connections & VPNs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th September 2016, 09:54 AM
  2. Xbox Bios - Disables Live.
    By fe_man2000 in forum Microsoft Consoles
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 3rd January 2005, 01:22 PM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •