Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29
  1. #1
    DF PlaYa ivrytwr3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    898
    Thanks
    824
    Thanked:        501
    Karma Level
    186

    Default New GPU - but what fits?!

    Booted up this morning to see this:





    (pic of my desktop with flickering green matrix type stuff going on - also points to whoever identifies the city centre!)


    Processor AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
    Manufacturer AMD
    Speed 3.2 GHz
    Number of Cores 4
    Video Card ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Manufacturer ATI
    Chipset ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Dedicated Memory 1.0 GB
    Total Memory 756.6 MB
    Memory 8.2 GB
    Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition Service Pack 2 (build 6002), 64-bit
    Service Pack 2
    Size 64 Bit
    Edition
    Display Maximum Resolution 1920 x 1080
    DVD TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223L ATA Device
    CD TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223L ATA Device
    Drive
    Size 892.4 GB
    Free 224.6 GB
    And this afternoon - blue screens, card smells v warm and i think the card has died!

    Noticed the card fan was struggling so took it out, cleaned it up (was quite clogged with dust ) But it is still blue screening.

    So would appreciate some recommendations asap as i can get one ordered today if i'm quick.

    Budget, it's an older system as above, but it is our main pc - my system is used for L4D2, movies and TV and i also do some video encoding. So under £200 would do what i need?

    (what do i need to buy as i've not had to replace one before!)

  2. #2
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Video card sits in a PCI-E slot so can put anything in there, I would imagine a replacement card for the same as you had new would be £20 on ebay ;-)

    Thanks to akimba

    ivrytwr3 (23rd June 2015) 


  3. #3
    DF Jedi TotallyRandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,913
    Thanks
    159
    Thanked:        95
    Karma Level
    360

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    What is the Blue screen?
    Power on tap F8 disable auto restart.
    You could also power on Tap F8 Enable VGA mode (this will disable Graphics driver and put it back to basic plug and play driver 800x600) then reinstall latest one or remove current driver

    and as Akimba said any PCI-E graphics card should do probably best get one without extra power cable requirements in case your PSU dose not support it

    Thanks to TotallyRandom

    ivrytwr3 (23rd June 2015) 


  4. #4
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,979
    Thanks
    3,522
    Thanked:        1,736
    Karma Level
    359

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Would that be Poznan in Poland ????

    Also why the hell are you using Windows Vista ffs
    Last edited by piggzy; 23rd June 2015 at 12:58 PM.

    Thanks to piggzy

    ivrytwr3 (23rd June 2015) 


  5. #5
    DF PlaYa ivrytwr3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    898
    Thanks
    824
    Thanked:        501
    Karma Level
    186

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Not Poland - no comment about Vista!

  6. #6
    DF PlaYa ivrytwr3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    898
    Thanks
    824
    Thanked:        501
    Karma Level
    186

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Looking at the specs of the HIS and MSI cards: (I might be able to get one for a decent price)

    MSI Radeon R9 280X Gaming Edition OC 3072MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
    Power 1 x 6 pin and 1 x 8 pin


    HIS Radeon R9 280X iPower IceQ X2 Boost 3072MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
    HIS 2 x 8 pin
    (i think!)

    The card i have pulled from my machine was powered by 1 x 6 pin.

    Below is a pic of my card and the pc internals - can i power one of these cards? If not, what else do i need to buy?

    Sorry for the questions and i really appreciate the help.

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

  7. #7
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Prob have to buy a bigger PSU to power it but really why would you?

    Thanks to akimba

    ivrytwr3 (23rd June 2015) 


  8. #8
    DF PlaYa ivrytwr3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    898
    Thanks
    824
    Thanked:        501
    Karma Level
    186

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    This is a pic of my PSU - it is sufficient to the HIS:

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    However, the HIS requires 2 x 8pin power, so i would need to purchase 2 x molex to 8pin (i have 0 8 pin and 4 x spare molex's)

    I think i am good to go - any issues?

  9. #9
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Ur PSU is outputting 550W this card recommends 1000W PSU (750W min)

    Thanks to akimba

    ivrytwr3 (23rd June 2015) 


  10. #10
    DF PlaYa pattikins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    manchester
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    251
    Thanked:        82
    Karma Level
    318

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    The 4800 series uses more power than the R9 280x

    Thanks to pattikins

    ivrytwr3 (23rd June 2015) 


  11. #11
    DF Super Moderator piggzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,979
    Thanks
    3,522
    Thanked:        1,736
    Karma Level
    359

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Would I be closer with Italy ?

  12. #12
    DF PlaYa ivrytwr3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    898
    Thanks
    824
    Thanked:        501
    Karma Level
    186

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    nope

    Thanks to ivrytwr3

    piggzy (24th June 2015) 


  13. #13
    DF PwNagE GTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7,718
    Thanks
    1,579
    Thanked:        2,241
    Karma Level
    1184

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Quote Originally Posted by piggzy View Post
    Would I be closer with Italy ?
    Quote Originally Posted by ivrytwr3 View Post
    nope
    Greece?
    Last edited by GTI; 24th June 2015 at 10:02 AM.

    Thanks to GTI

    ivrytwr3 (24th June 2015) 


  14. #14
    DF Jedi crazyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Okinawa
    Posts
    4,215
    Thanks
    345
    Thanked:        468
    Karma Level
    519

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    How about something like this?

    [Only registered and activated users can see links. ]

    OK, not the fastest card in the world, but it will do what you want, well within budget and 1 x 8-pin power connector so no worries about additional power requirements.

    Even though you say you have a 6-pin connector, sometimes the additional 2 pins are in the case as well, just not attached to the 6-pin. Looks something like this:

    Thanks to crazyal

    ivrytwr3 (24th June 2015) 


  15. #15
    DF Jedi akimba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,025
    Thanks
    1,152
    Thanked:        839
    Karma Level
    341

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Hotel is called Sigma which is Greek and white rear number plate supports this (but common in other countries too tho)

    Thanks to akimba

    ivrytwr3 (24th June 2015) 


  16. #16
    DF PwNagE GTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7,718
    Thanks
    1,579
    Thanked:        2,241
    Karma Level
    1184

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Quote Originally Posted by akimba View Post
    Hotel is called Sigma which is Greek and white rear number plate supports this (but common in other countries too tho)
    That's what I said

    Thanks to GTI

    ivrytwr3 (24th June 2015) 


  17. #17
    DF PlaYa ivrytwr3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    898
    Thanks
    824
    Thanked:        501
    Karma Level
    186

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Not Greece either.

    Thanks to ivrytwr3

    GTI (25th June 2015) 


  18. #18
    DF PlaYa psxcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london/s.wales
    Posts
    789
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked:        90
    Karma Level
    343

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    looks like u sorted your card btw its Romania

    Thanks to psxcity

    ivrytwr3 (25th June 2015) 


  19. #19
    DF PwNagE GTI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7,718
    Thanks
    1,579
    Thanked:        2,241
    Karma Level
    1184

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    Quote Originally Posted by ivrytwr3 View Post
    Not Greece either.
    It's Turkey

    Last answer

    Thanks to GTI

    ivrytwr3 (25th June 2015) 


  20. #20
    DF PlaYa ivrytwr3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    898
    Thanks
    824
    Thanked:        501
    Karma Level
    186

    Default Re: New GPU - but what fits?!

    PSXCity wins the virtual cookie - but did he win because he checked a thread of mine elsewhere? (how else would he know my GPU problem has been sorted? - cheeky!)

    Sibiu to be exact.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MSN 'status' fits perfectly lol
    By burner1 in forum Funny Pictures
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7th July 2008, 06:48 PM
  2. windows no longer fits my monitor properly
    By lloydi in forum PC Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th January 2008, 05:02 PM
  3. Ut2003 fits on an 80min yeh?
    By tokebuzz in forum PC Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th September 2002, 01:56 AM

Social Networking Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •