Close

Thread: Taking tablets

Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Taking tablets

I think I understand "take one three times daily" in that that means take one every eight hours (approximately).

But does "take three per day" imply that they have to be taken all at once, or would it be acceptable to take three each day but spread out over the day?

The particular tablets in question are glucosamine and chondroitin which my GP has suggested that I try for osteoarthritis.

For practical reasons taking the three at different times would be preferable, but if that would diminish any possible effect, then I shall take them at the same time.

Thanks in advance.

DF Moderator
    Thanks
    Karma Level

Default Re: Taking tablets

Ask your GP

Cheapreefer on instagram

Thanks
    Karma Level

yes it means take 1 tablet every 8 hours spread it out evenly over a day, so I guess 7am-3pm-11pm ---7am on and on, I'm not a doctor so I'm only giving my interpretation of what you've provided ( I take no responsibility if you snuff it form information ive supplied, consult your doctor if your not sure) and its so you get a even dose over the 24 hours is why you take every 8 and not all at once

Thanks
    Karma Level

The concept of taking 3 daily is generally to maintain them in your system (it all depends on the volume of each tablet/capsule). Taking it all at once means you would assimilate them all at the same time and possibly be left for a prolonged period without any of it in your body although this I cannot confirm. I assume the capsules you have are 500mg and your daily intake is 1500mg?

I take Glucosamine in a once daily (1000mg) tablet with a cod liver oil capsule just to keep the joints working well.

Not sure if it's any different taking 2 x 500mg tabs as opposed to one 1000mg tab (unless the 1000mg tabs are bound in a slow release compound or something compared to the 500mg).

Thanks
    Karma Level